Indiana's Verdell Jones III, right, battles Notre Dame's Tory Jackson for a loose ball during the first half.

No. 8 Notre Dame Rolls Over Indiana, 88-50

Nov. 24, 2008

Notre Dame vs Indiana Box Score

LAHAINA, Hawaii (AP) – Tory Jackson had 21 points and fellow guard Kyle McAlarney added 18 to lead No. 8 Notre Dame to an 88-50 victory over Indiana in the opening round of the EA Sports Maui Invitational on Monday.

The Fighting Irish (3-0) will face No. 6 Texas, which beat Saint Joseph’s 68-50, in the semifinals on Tuesday.

Jackson was 10-of-17 from the field and had six assists. McAlarney scored all his points on 3-pointers, finishing 6-of-11 from behind the arc.

Tom Pritchard had 14 points for the Hoosiers (2-1), who just didn’t have the size, speed or depth to stay with their instate rival.

Notre Dame shot 50.7 percent from the field (38-of-75), including 10-of-26 on 3s, while the Hoosiers were 21-of-53 overall (39.6 percent) and just 1-of-12 from 3-point range.

This was a matchup of one of the most veteran teams in the country – Notre Dame starts three seniors, including reigning Big East player of the year Luke Harangody, and two juniors – and one of the least experienced. Indiana has just two returning players, one a walk-on.

Notre Dame led 44-23 at halftime after shooting 46.2 percent from the field (18-of-39), including 6-of-16 on 3-pointers. The Hoosiers were just 9-of-29 (31 percent) and missed all seven of their 3-point attempts.

McAlarney’s 3-pointer with 13:10 to go capped a 7-0 run that gave the Irish a 63-31 lead.

Harangody had 14 points and Ryan Ayers added 13 for the Fighting Irish, who finished with a 43-33 rebounding advantage.

Devan Dumes and Nick Williams both had 10 points for the Hoosiers, who committed 20 turnovers which Notre Dame converted into 31 points.

Indiana leads the all-time series between the schools 47-21 and the Hoosiers had won 16 of the last 19 meetings.

Notre Dame finished sixth in 1993 in its only previous appearance in the Maui Invitational. Indiana is making its fifth appearance and the Hoosiers won the tournament in 2002.

This is the second straight season first-year Indiana coach Tom Crean has been in the tournament. He led Marquette to a second-place finish behind Duke in 2007.