Sophomore Michael Bulfin copped his third career all-BIG EAST honor by placing second in the three-meter competition on Friday.

No. 8 Northwestern Tops 16th-Ranked Fighting Irish 167-131

Jan. 20, 2007

Complete Results

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The No. 8 Northwestern men’s swimming and diving team won 13 of 16 events, including three apiece by Matt Grevers and Eric Nilsson, to top No. 16 Notre Dame 167-131 in dual-meet action on Saturday afternoon in the Rolfs Aquatic Center. Sophomore diver Michael Bulfin (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla./St. Thomas Aquinas) led the Irish, who are now 8-1 in dual meets this season, with wins off both the one-meter and three-meter boards.

Bulfin registered 317.77 points off the one-meter board and 346.80 in the three-meter competition. Notre Dame’s other victory was posted in the 1,650-yard freestyle as freshman Andrew Deters (Claremont, Calif./Claremont) took first in a team season-best time of 15:39.88.

Senior Ted Brown (Kokomo, Ind./Western) had two runner-up finishes for the Fighting Irish. He was second in the 200-yard free with a time of 1:39.65 and also placed second in the 500-yard free by touching the wall in 4:33.96.

Grevers took first in the 50-yard free (20.47), 200-yard back (1:49.54) and the 200-yard IM. His time of 1:45.12 in the 200 IM was a Rolfs Aquatic Center record. The old mark was held by Notre Dame senior Tim Kegelman (Yorktown, Va./Tabb), who swam 1:49.48 during the 2004-05 season. Nilsson was first in the 200-yard free (1:38.59), 200-yard fly (1:48.99) and the 500-yard free (4:28.85).

For full results of Saturday’s meet, log onto

The Irish return to the pool when they host the Shamrock Dual Meet Invitational next Friday and Saturday (Jan. 26 &27) in the Rolfs Aquatic Center.


400-Yard Medley Relay: The Northwestern team of Matt Grevers, John Franklin, Kyle Bubolz and Bruno Barbic took first in 3:19.52. The Irish claimed four points as Jeff Wood, Sam Pendergast, Tim Kegelman and John Lytle went 3:22.95 to place second. The Wildcats also claimed third.

1,650-Yard Free: Freshman Andrew Deters recorded Notre Dame’s first win of the day as he swam a team season-best time of 15:39.88. Rob Seery would complete the 1-2 finish for the Irish as he touched the wall in 15:45.20. Daniel Walls of Northwestern was third (15:53.89) and Notre Dame’s Jay Vanden Berg was fourth (15:54.79).

200-Yard Free: Eric Nilsson won his first of three events on the day as he finished in 1:38.59. Notre Dame took the next three spots with good showings from Ted Brown (1:39.65), Andrew Hoffman (1:41.28) and Brian Freeman (1:42.01).

100-Yard Back: Kyle Bubolz claimed the victory for the Wildcats with a time of 50.04. Jeff Wood was second for Notre Dame in 50.29. Bill Bauman also captured two points for the Irish as he took fourth in 51.63.

100-Yard Breast: John Franklin was first for Northwestern with a mark of 56.47. Notre Dame’s Sam Pendergast finished second in 56.72, while two other Irish swimmers scored as Tim Kegelman was fourth (58.35) and Tyler Angelo was fifth (59.20).

200-Yard Fly: Eric Nilsson won his second event of the meet by posting a time of 1:48.99. Freshman MacKenzie LeBlanc was second for the Irish in 1:52.41 and his classmate Ross Moore was fourth in 1:53.61.

50-Yard Free: Matt Grevers (20.47) and Bruno Barbic (20.95) finished 1-2 for Northwestern. Notre Dame took the next three spots behind John Lytle (21.08), Louis Cavadini (21.36) and David Anderson (21.97).

One-Meter Diving: Notre Dame’s Michael Bulfin won his first of two events on the day with a mark of 317.77. Sam Stoner and Scott Coyle placed third and fourth for the Irish with respective scores of 308.92 and 284.99.

100-Yard Free: Bruno Barbic took first for the Wildcats in 45.58. Notre Dame went 2-3-4 with solid efforts from John Lytle (45.87), Andrew Hoffman (47.07) and Louis Cavadini (47.19).

200-Yard Back: Matt Grevers won his second event of the day by going 1:49.54 and he was followed up by his teammate Adam Beckman in 1:51.31. Jeff Wood (1:51.43) and Brian Freeman (1:52.02) claimed spots three and four, respectively, for Notre Dame.

200-Yard Breast: John Franklin was victorious for the second time on the afternoon as he touched the wall in 2:03.94. The Fighting Irish did claim three scoring spots with Daniel Rave placing second in 2:04.33, while Tyler Angelo was fourth in 2:08.17 and Sam Pendergast took fifth in a time of 2:09.64.

500-Yard Free: Eric Nilsson won for the third time by finishing in 4:28.85. Ted Brown spearheaded an Irish effort that claimed nine points by going 2-3-4. Brown swam a time of 4:33.96, while Andrew Deters clocked a time of 4:36.98 to finish third and Jay Vanden Berg was fourth in 4:38.03.

100-Yard Fly: Northwestern’s Kyle Bubolz was first in 49.72, yet Notre Dame took second and third with Tim Kegelman clocking in at 50.42 and Louis Cavadini was third in 50.57. MacKenzie LeBlanc registered another point for the Irish by finishing fifth in 52.92.

Three-Meter Diving: Michael Bulfin won for the second time during the meet by recording 346.80 points. He led a 1-2-3 finish for Notre Dame with Sam Stoner placing second with 340.57 points and Steven Crowe was third with a total of 311.78 points.

200-Yard IM: Northwestern’s Matt Grevers took his third event of the day in a Rolfs Aquatic Center record-time of 1:45.12. His teammate Jake Vogel placed second in 1:55.65. Ted Brown (1:56.59) and Andrew MacKay (1:57.09) placed third and fifth, respectively, for the Irish.

400-Yard Free Relay: In the final event of the day, the Wildcat quartet of Eric Nilsson, Bruno Barbic, Jimmy Sourbeer and Kyle Bubolz claimed first in 3:01.91. John Lytle, Jeff Wood, Louis Cavadini and Tim Kegelman teamed to post a second-place time of 3:09.25 for the Irish. Notre Dame also took third behind Andrew Hoffman, Rob Seery, David Anderson and Pat Lloyd in 3:10.90.