Teammates Billy Pecor and Alex Lawson won at two doubles Saturday morning.

No. 30 Men's Tennis Splits Matches Against No. 5 Duke and IUPUI

Feb. 3, 2013

#5 Duke 4, #30 Notre Dame 0 Get Acrobat Reader

#30 Notre Dame 7, IUPUI 0 Get Acrobat Reader

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The No. 30 University of Notre Dame men’s tennis team split a pair of matches on Super Bowl Sunday, falling to No. 5 Duke, 4-0, before sweeping IUPUI, 7-0, in the night cap at Eck Tennis Pavilion.

The Irish run their record to 4-3 on the year and hit the road next Saturday for a matchup with No. 40 Michigan State. Notre Dame and the Spartans will get doubles action going at 6 p.m.

No. 5 Duke 4, No. 30 Notre Dame 0

Duke (6-1) took down the Irish in a little over 2:30 hours Sunday afternoon with a 4-0 win. The Blue Devils won the doubles point and then earned victories at one, two and five singles.

The Blue Devils claimed the hard-fought doubles point with wins at one and three. The No. 1 doubles duo in the country, Henrique Cunha and Raphael Hemmeler, took down the No. 51 pair of Greg Andrews and Spencer Talmadge, 8-1, at one to give Duke the advantage. Billy Pecor and Alex Lawson quickly evened the score with their first ranked win of the season as they topped the No. 39 team of Jason Tahir and Michael Redlicki, 8-5, at two. The doubles point came down to No. 3, where Ryan Bandy and Matt Dooley were giving it their all against the No. 37 pair of Chris Mengel and Fred Saba. The ranked doubles pair just edged the Irish duo, 8-6, to give the Blue Devils the 1-0 lead.

Duke closed out the match in singles with wins at one, two and five. Matches at three, four and six were abandoned after the outcome of the contest was decided. The Blue Devils took a 2-0 lead after No. 38 Hemmeler took down No. 120 Wyatt McCoy, 6-1, 6-1, at five. The lead increased to 3-0 after No. 23 Saba bested No. T-110 Blas Moros, 6-3, 6-3, at two. A 6-4, 6-4 victory for No. 11 Cunha over No. 80 Andrews at one sealed the win.



No. 1: No. 11 Henrique Cunha (Duke) d. No. 80 Greg Andrews (ND), 6-4, 6-4

No. 2: No. 23 Fred Saba (Duke) d. No. T-110 Blas Moros (ND), 6-3, 6-3

No. 3: No. 14 Michael Redlicki (Duke) vs. Quentin Monaghan (ND), 7-6, 2-3, unfinished

No. 4: No. 46 Chris Mengel (Duke) vs. No. 88 Billy Pecor (ND), 1-6, 7-5, 1-0, unfinished

No. 5: No. 38 Raphael Hemmeler (Duke) d. No. 120 Wyatt McCoy (ND), 6-1, 6-1

No. 6: No. T-123 Jason Tahir (Duke) vs. Ryan Bandy, 3-6, 6-2, unfinished

Order of Finish: 5, 2, 1


No. 1: No. 1 Henrique Cunha / Raphael Hemmeler (Duke) d. No. 51 Greg Andrews / Spencer Talmadge (ND), 8-1

No. 2: Billy Pecor / Alex Lawson (ND) d. No. 39 Jason Tahir / Michael Redlicki (Duke), 8-5

No. 3: No. 37 Chris Mengel / Fred Saba (Duke) d. Ryan Bandy / Matt Dooley (ND), 8-6

Order of Finish: 1, 2, 3

No. 30 Notre Dame 7, IUPUI 0

Notre Dame closed out the day with a 7-0 win over IUPUI.

The Irish claimed the doubles point with wins at one and two. Andrews and Talmadge breezed past Jacob Bradley and Nick Volz, 8-2, at one and Lawson and Dougie Barnard defeated Deon Shafer and Patrick O’Neill, 8-5, at two. Action at number three was abandoned once the doubles point was locked up.

Notre Dame wrapped up the sweep with wins in all six singles contests. Four victories came in straight sets, while action at two and five went to a third set super set.

No. 120 McCoy was the first off the court with a 6-1, 6-1 win over Thomas Gans at three. No. 80 Greg Andrews wrapped up next with a 6-2, 6-0 win at No. 1 singles over Volz. Michael Fredericka defeated Louis Sacks at six singles, 6-0, 6-3, to close out the match for the Irish.

Michael Moore knocked off Shafer, 6-3, 6-4 at four to give the Irish a 5-0 lead. No. T-110 Moros got back to his winning ways with a 1-6, 6-4, 1-0 (10-4) win over Jaruvang at two singles, and Dooley ended the night with a 6-3, 4-6, 1-0 (12-10) win at five.



No. 1: No. 80 Greg Andrews (ND) d. Nick Volz (IUPUI), 6-2, 6-0

No. 2: No. T-110 Blas Moros (ND) d. Jason Jaruvang (IUPUI), 1-6, 6-4, 1-0 (10-4)

No. 3: No. 120 Wyatt McCoy (ND) d. Thomas Gans (IUPUI), 6-1, 6-1

No. 4: Michael Moore (ND) d. Deon Shafer (IUPUI), 6-3, 6-4

No. 5: Michael Dooley (ND) d. Joel Modesitt (IUPUI), 6-3, 4-6, 1-0 (12-10)

No. 6: Michael Fredericka (ND) d. Louis Sacks (IUPUI), 6-0, 6-3

Order of Finish: 3, 1, 6, 4, 5


No. 1: No. 51 Greg Andrews / Spencer Talmadge (ND) d. Jacob Bradley / Nick Volz (IUPUI), 8-2

No. 2: Alex Lawson / Dougie Barnard (ND) d. Deon Shafer / Patrick O’Neill (IUPUI), 8-5

No. 3: Nicolas Montoya / Kenneth Sabacinski (ND) vs. Jason Jaruvang / Jacob Hedderig (IUPUI), 6-5, unfinished

Order of Finish: 1, 2