Jan. 11, 2007

Nine members of the Notre Dame football team have applied to Notre Dame’s Faculty Board on Athletics for a fifth year at the University, Fighting Irish Head Coach Charlie Weis announced Thursday, Jan. 11.

“Recently I addressed the issue of the fifth-year process,” said Weis. “The nine players who have applied for a fifth year are: Co-captains Tom Zbikowski and Travis Thomas, John Carlson, John Sullivan, Trevor Laws, Dwight Stephenson, Joe Brockington, Ambrose Wooden and Geoff Price.”