May 8, 2000

The NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Championship committee announced Monday night that all first-round matches involving the highest-seeded team must be the second of the two first-round matches at the 16 first- and second-round sites. On Thurs., May 4, when the NCAA field was announced, Notre Dame was selected as one of the 16 hosts, with UIC, South Carolina and Western Michigan traveling to Notre Dame. The Irish originally were scheduled to play UIC on Sat., May 13, at 10:00 a.m., but now will play the Flames at 2:00 p.m. South Carolina and Western Michigan now will play at 10:00 a.m., instead of 2:00 p.m. The second-round match between the winners remains at 12:00 p.m. on Sun., May 14.

Revised NCAA First and Second Round Schedule

Saturday, May 13

#17-20 South Carolina vs. #33-48 Western Michigan 10:00 a.m.

#13-16 Notre Dame vs. #49-64 UIC 2:00 p.m.

Sunday, May 14

First-Round Winners 12:00 p.m.