Notre Dame head coach Muffet McGraw and her 2007-08 Irish will appear on television at least 22 times, according to the full BIG EAST television package and other arrangements announced Thursday.

Muffet McGraw Named To WBCA Board Of Directors

June 21, 2005

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Notre Dame head women’s basketball coach Muffet McGraw is one of 13 new additions to the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) Board of Directors, it was announced Monday evening by WBCA President (and DePaul head coach) Doug Bruno. McGraw was appointed to serve for the next two years as the chair of the group’s NCAA Division I Legislative Committee, taking over for Marquette head coach Terri Mitchell, who recently completed a distinguished two-year term in that post.

“I appreciate the opportunity Doug (Bruno) has afforded me to continue to give back to this profession which I enjoy so much,” McGraw said. “I look forward to working with the other members of the Board to help this game grow and develop even further in the coming years.”

This appointment is the latest in a long and fruitful connection between McGraw and the WBCA. Earlier this year, she completed an extended term as the group’s liaison on the USA Basketball Women’s Collegiate Committee, which ultimately selects those college-age players that will represent the United States in international competition. During the summer of 2004, McGraw also served with the WBCA’s Special Committee on Recruiting and Access, which helped to develop numerous proposals to the NCAA that would clarify and strengthen national recruiting guidelines.

In addition, McGraw was the only women’s basketball coach named to the U.S. Commission on Opportunity in Athletics during the summer of 2002. That 15-member panel spent the better part of a year examining ways to strengthen enforcement of Title IX laws, as well as expand opportunities to ensure fairness for all student-athletes.

Joining McGraw as the newest members of the WBCA Board of Directors are: Geno Auriemma, University of Connecticut (Division I/At-Large); Carolyn Campbell-McGovern, Ivy League (Committee on Basketball Issues Chair); Pokey Chatman, Louisiana State University (Black Coaches Association Representative); Sherri Coale, University of Oklahoma (Division I/At-Large); Gail Goestenkors, Duke University (Division I/At-Large); Sam Nichols, McMurry University (Male Coaches of Women’s Basketball Representative); Donna Orender, WNBA (WNBA Representative); Sue Ramsey, Ashland University (NCAA Division II Legislative Chair), Brad Smith, Oregon City High School (High School Representative) and C. Vivian Stringer, Rutgers University (Division I/At-Large).

Elected members include: Nan Carney-DeBord, Ohio Wesleyan University (Division III/At-Large); Michael Landers, Trinity Valley Community College (Junior College/Community College Representative); and voted by the WBCA membership for a consecutive three-year term are Cathy Parson, Howard University (Division I/Middle East Representative) and Paul Thomas, Cal State Poly Pomona (Division II/Group II Representative).

“I am extremely excited to have such a well-rounded group of colleagues to join me during my term as president,” Bruno said. “Each of these individuals bring a unique perspective, outstanding experience, great knowledge, strong leadership and diversity to the WBCA Board of Directors. At this point, the possibilities are limitless for the impact the Association will make on the sport of women’s basketball with this assembly of professionals.”

McGraw has posted a 499-196 (.718) record in 23 seasons as a collegiate head coach, including a 411-155 (.726) mark in 18 years at Notre Dame. During her time with the Irish, she has compiled 16 20-win seasons, 12 NCAA Tournament appearances, six NCAA Sweet 16 berths, two trips to the NCAA Final Four and the 2001 national championship. With her next victory, she will become the 27th NCAA Division I women’s basketball history to amass 500 career wins and she will be just the 10th to do so before the age of 50.

In 2004-05, Notre Dame logged a 27-6 record (matching the third-highest win total in school history), and advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament before winding up 11th in the final Associated Press poll and 15th in the year-end ESPN/USA Today coaches’ poll. Coming off its 12th consecutive 20-win season and 10th straight NCAA Tournament berth, Notre Dame will have eight returning monogram winners next year, along with two talented incoming freshmen — guard Lindsay Schrader (Bartlett, Ill./Bartlett HS) and forward Chandrica Smith (Stone Mountain, Ga./Oak Hill Academy (Va.)) — who comprise the nation’s 16th-rated recruiting class, according to Blue Star Index.

— ND —