Coach Brey

Mike Brey To Appear With ESPN's Andy Katz On August 18

Aug. 9, 2011

Notre Dame, Ind. – Notre Dame men’s basketball coach Mike Brey will be among the college coaches featured on Katz Corner, an ESPNU special hosted by ESPN’s Andy Katz. Brey’s interview will air on Thursday, Aug. 18, at 5:00 p.m. (ET) on ESPNU.

The series features 31 collegiate coaches and will air Monday, Aug. 15 through Friday, Aug. 19. The interviews by Katz were conducted while coaches were on the road recruiting in July and were shot at ESPN Wide World of Sports in Orlando, Fla. Brey’s episode also will feature John Calipari of Kentucky, Phil Martelli from St. Joseph’s (Pa.), Rhode Island head coach Jim Baron, Blaine Taylor of Old Dominion and Florida State’s Leonard Hamilton.

Brey led the Irish to a 27-7 mark in 2010-11, including a 14-4 mark and second- place finish in BIG EAST play. He took Notre Dame to the third round of the NCAA Tournament, copping his third BIG EAST Coach of the Year honor, while also taking home national coach-of-the-year honors from the Associated Press and U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) as the recipient of the Henry Iba Award.

Brey is one of six BIG EAST coaches showcased in the series, which debuts on Monday, Aug. 15. The first segment will feature Tom Izzo (Michigan State), Matt Painter (Purdue), Bill Carmody (Northwestern), Mick Cronin (Cincinnati), Ed Cooley (Providence) and Tom Herrion (Marshall).

The second episode (Tues., Aug. 6) will include Kevin Stallings (Vanderbilt), Andy Kennedy (Mississippi), John Beilein (Michigan), Jamie Dixon (Pittsburgh), Jim Larranaga (Miami (Fla.)) and Mitch Henderson (Princeton).

Appearing on Wed., Aug. 17 will be Georgia Tech’s Brian Gregory, Mark Gottfried of North Carolina State, Virginia Tech head coach Seth Greenberg, Georgetown’s John Thompson III, Sydney Johnson of Fairfield and Temple’s Fran Dunphy.

The series concludes on Fri., Aug. 19 with interviews with Jim Calhoun (Connecticut), Rick Pitino (Louisville), Brad Stevens (Butler), Roy Williams (North Carolina), Josh Pastner (Memphis), Mike Anderson (Arkansas) and Gregg Marshall (Wichita State).