Prior to his election to the NABC Board, Brey served as a Congress member.

Mike Brey Elected To NABC Board Of Directors

April 24, 2008

Notre Dame, Ind. – Irish men’s basketball coach Mike Brey has been elected to the board of directors of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC), succeeding Jim Boeheim of Syracuse University. Brey has served as a NABC Division I Congress member.

Tubby Smith of the University of Minnesota was installed as NABC president for 2008-09 at the April Convention. The remainder of the Executive Committee includes first vice president Willis Wilson; second vice president Dale Clayton of Carson-Newman College; third vice president Tom Izzo of Michigan State; and fourth vice present Dave Odom. Boeheim, the 2007-08 president, and Oliver Purnell of Clemson University, who served as the NABC president in 2006-07, also serve on the NABC Executive Committee as past presidents.

The NABC board, which includes representatives from all NCAA divisions also includes Ernie Kent of the University of Oregon, Larry Gibson of Northeastern State University; Page Moir of Roanoke College; Phil Martelli of St. Joseph’s University; Ron Hunter of IUPUI; Jeff Jones of American University; Bill Self of the University of Kansas; Paul Hewitt of Georgia Tech; Bo Ryan of the University of Wisconsin; Charlie Brock of Springfield College; Cy Alexander of Tennessee State University; and Lorenzo Romar of the University of Washington.

Brey also serves as a member of the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Rules Committee (he is in his second year of a three-year team) and has been a national board member of the Coaches vs. Cancer Council since February 2003.