Frank Dyer became the first men's swimming All-American in Notre Dame history with a fourth place finish at the 2012 NCAA Championships

Men's Swimming Slips Past Field At 48th Annual Dennis Stark Relays

Oct. 12, 2012

Complete Results | Photo Gallery

Dennis Stark Relays Results Get Acrobat Reader

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The Notre Dame men’s swimming and diving squad won seven of the 12 events on Friday night at the Rolfs Aquatic Center, as the Irish slipped past Oakland to claim the team title at the 48th annual Dennis Stark Relays.

The Irish won five of the 10 swimming events and both diving events to secure victory. They were followed by Oakland (190), Cleveland State (144) and IUPUI (118).

Notre Dame hits the road in two weeks for a pair of road dual meets, as they first battle Oakland on Friday, Oct. 26, before taking on Michigan State on Saturday, Oct. 27.


200 Free Relay: The team of Frank Dyer, Kevin Overholt, John McGinley and Chris Johnson bested Oakland by almost three seconds in the men’s opening race of the afternoon. The foursome finished in 1:22.69, with Overholt’s 20.40 split proving to be the fastest of the race.

400 Medley Relay: Notre Dame took second in the 400 medley relay behind Oakland. The Irish finished in 3:25.54 as Grizzlies touched the pad in 3:23.96. Notre Dame had the lead through two swimmers, but Oakland had two strong swims from Alex Aceino and Grant Harding to take the victory.

800 Free Relay: The Irish touched the pad second in the 800 free relay behind first place Oakland. The Grizzlies finished in 6:52.98, while Notre Dame was right behind in 6:54.17.

400 IM Relay: The 400 IM relay team of Bill Bass, Matthew DeBlasio, Zach Stephens and Patrick Olson got the Irish back on the winning track as they finished in 3:29.76.

300 Fly Relay: Notre Dame finished second in the 300 fly relay behind Oakland. The Irish touched the wall in 2:32.40, with the Grizzlies slipping just ahead in 2:31.84.

300 Back Relay: Bogac Ayhan was neck-and-neck with Oakland’s Anders Jensen after the first leg … Oakland’s Tobias Hansen pulled away in the second leg and Harding touched the pad first for Oakland in 2:30.61 … the Irish finished in second in 2:33.89.

300 Breast Relay: The Irish trio of Johnson, Stephens and Cameron Miller took home the victory in 2:50.38, shattering the meet record set by Oakland in 2011 … Johnson gave the Irish the led after his lead-off leg … Stephens extended the Irish lead and Miller distanced himself from the field, giving Notre Dame a nearly nine second victory.

1,000 Free Relay: Oakland’s Amr El Sayed took the lead after his 500 yards in 4:41.50 and Jorden Merrilees held onto the lead as Oakland took gold in the event in 9:21.64 … the Notre Dame duo of Kevin Hughes and Jimmy McEldrew finished in second in 9:25.39.

200 Medley Relay: In one of the closest races of the night, Johnson caught Oakland’s Matyas Keresztes on the final lap to give the Irish the victory in 1:32.45, just eight one-hundredths of a second ahead of Oakland.

400 Free Relay: In the final race of the evening the Irish led throughout … Overholt gave the Irish the lead after his first leg of 46.51 … Colin Babcock, Stephens and McGinley held the lead for Notre Dame as they took first place in a Dennis Stark Relays record 3:03.53.

1M Diving Relay: Nick Nemetz slipped past three Irish teammates to claim the 1M diving relay title. Nemetz scored 310.82 points, which put him ahead of teammates Michael Kreft (309.90), Ryan Koter (282.80) and John Andrade (275.15).

3M Diving Relay: In the men’s synchronized diving relay Nemetz and Kreft took top honors with a score of 255.95.