Sept. 30, 2000

LEXINGTON, Ky. — The Notre Dame men’s tennis team won nine of 12 singles matches and four of six doubles matches against Baylor and Harvard on the second day of the Charles Fluitt Collegiate Classic at the University of Kentucky. Juniors Javier Taborga and Andrew Laflin, sophomore Brian Farrell and freshman Luis Haddock-Morales each won a pair of singles matches for the Irish, who won five of six singles against Baylor and four of six against Harvard.

Haddock-Morales improved to 7-0 on the season in both singles and in doubles with junior Casey Smith. He beat Baylor’s 68th-ranked Mark Williams 6-4, 6-5 (10-8) and Harvard’s Oli Choo 4-6, 6-2, 6-4 in singles and teamed with Smith for an 8-2 win over Baylor’s Csongor Bibza and Sean O’Connor and 8-6 over Harvard’s Ryan Browne and Mark Riddell in doubles.

Junior Aaron Talarico beat Bibza in singles 5-6, 6-2, 6-5, while Taborga defeated O’Connor 6-0, 6-5 (8-6) and Cliff Nguyen of Harvard 1-6, 6-2, 6-5. Laflin defeated Baylor’s Mike Garcia 6-0, 6-0 and Harvard’s George Turner 6-3, 6-2, while Farrell won 4-6, 6-2, 6-4 over Cory Ross of Baylor and 6-1, 6-4 over Cillie Swart of Harvard. Notre Dame’s ninth-ranked doubles team of Taborga and Talarico lost 8-7 to Baylor’s 20th-ranked Williams and Reiner Nevrorh. Junior James Malhame and senior Ashok Raju won 8-6 over Ross and Garcia.


Reiner Nevrorh (Baylor) def. Casey Smith (ND) 6-4, 2-6, 6-5

Aaron Talarico (ND) def. Csongor Bibza (Baylor) 5-6, 6-2, 6-5

Javier Taborga (ND) def. Sean O’Connor (Baylor) 6-0, 6-5 (8-6)

Luis Haddock-Morales (ND) def. #68 Mark Williams (Baylor) 6-4, 6-5 (10-8)

Brian Farrell (ND) def. Cory Ross (Baylor) 4-6, 6-2, 6-4

Andrew Laflin (ND) def. Mike Garcia (Baylor) 6-0, 6-0

Javier Taborga (ND) def. Cliff Nguyen (Harvard) 1-6, 6-2, 6-5

Ryan Browne (Harvard) def. Casey Smith (ND) 0-6, 6-4, 6-4

Mark Riddell (Harvard) def. Aaron Talarico (ND) 4-6, 6-4, 6-5 (7)

Luis Haddock-Morales (ND) def. Oli Choo (Harvard) 4-6, 6-2, 6-4

Andrew Laflin (ND) def. George Turner (Harvard) 6-3, 6-2

Brian Farrell (ND) def. Cillie Swart (Harvard) 6-1, 6-4


#20 Nevrorh/Williams (Baylor) def. #9 Taborga/Talarico (ND) 8-5

Haddock-Morales/Smith (ND) def. Bibza/O’Connor (Baylor) 8-2

James Malhame/Ashok Raju (ND) def. Ross/Garcia (Baylor) ??8-6

Smith/Haddock-Morales (ND) def. Browne/Riddell (Harvard) 8-6

Turner/Swart (Harvard) def. Taborga/Malhame(ND) 8-4

Laflin/Raju (ND) def. Snyder/Choo (Harvard) 8-5