Oct. 27, 2000

MADISON, Wis. — The Notre Dame men’s tennis team placed three of its six singles entrants into the final 32 on the first of four days of the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Region IV Championships in Madison, Wis. Irish juniors Javier Taborga and Aaron Talarico and freshman Luis Haddock-Morales each will play in the third round on Saturday.

Fifth-seeded Taborga beat Northern Illinois’ Raymond van Wasbeek 6-3, 7-5 in the second round after receiving a first-round bye. He will face Northwestern’s Jaime Sahara in the third round. The 19th-seed Talarico won 6-1, 7-5 over Paulo Carvalho of Louisville in the second round after a first-round bye. He next meets Illinois’ sixth-seeded Amer Delic in the third round.

Unseeded Haddock-Morales won a pair of matches to reach the third round. He rallied for a 5-7, 6-2, 6-2 win over Western Michigan’s Ryan Maarschalk before beating Butler’s Peter Voelz 6-3, 6-0. He will face Louisville’s 12th-seeded Turtko Kujundzic in the third round.

Eleventh-seeded Irish junior Casey Smith lost 6-4, 6-2 to DePaul’s Jevgenij Carlov in the second round after a first-round bye. Freshman Matthew Scott dropped a tight 6-4, 5-7, 6-4 first-round match to Wisconsin’s Dustin Friedman. Junior Andrew Laflin fell 6-1, 6-2 to Michigan’s Greg Novak.

In the doubles competition, senior Ashok Raju and sophomore Brian Farrell lost 9-8 (7-2) to Carlov and Michaels of DePaul in the first round. The Irish teams of Taborga and Talarico — seeded first in draw of 48 doubles teams –and Haddock-Morales and Smith each received byes into the second round and will play their first matches on Saturday.