Oct. 19, 2007

Minneapolis, Minn. – The University of Notre Dame men’s tennis team got off to a strong start during singles qualifying at the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Midwest Men’s Region IV Championships Thursday, posting a combined 2-0 record in opening round play at the Baseline Tennis Center. With a steady rain pelting the Twin Cities throughout the day, all action was played indoors.

Irish freshman Dan Stahl (Bethesda, MD) walked away with a hard-fought, three set victory over Bryan Norville of Western Michigan. Stahl dropped the opening set, 6-2, but rebounded with a pair of convincing wins in the final two sets, 6-2, 6-2. Stahl improves to 6-2 on the season with his fifth consecutive victory. He advances to face Matt Parks of Michigan on Friday at 8:00 a.m.

Sophomore Sean Corrigan (Lido Beach, NY) knocked off Tony Teufel of Wright State, but no score was reported from the site. As soon as a score is reported, und.com will post the result. Corrigan now stands 3-2 on the season and 11-5 for his career. He moves on to play Vanja Grugec of Depaul on Friday at 8:00 a.m.

The ITA Midwest Men’s Region IV Championships continues at Minnesota’s Baseline Tennis Center on Friday at 8 a.m. with the second round of singles qualifying. Doubles action also gets underway on Friday at 4 p.m.

NCAA Men’s Tennis
ITA Midwest Region IV Men’s Tournament
Oct. 18-22, 2007
University of Minnesota Baseline Tennis Center
Minneapolis, Minn.

Men’s Qualifying Singles Results – Round of 64
(2) Chris Madden (Mich) def. Patrick Dwyer (Iowa) 6-4, 6-4
Dino Bilankov (MINN.) def. Michael Muskieviitz (Wisc) 6-3, 3-6, 7-5
Ben Clos (Lville) def. (10) Ryan Hamning (CSU) 6-2, 7-6
Chris Clark (Tol) def. Adriano Liccardo (UIC) 6-1, 7-5
(7) Alejandro Calligari (Lville) def. Alasdair Graetz (Dep) 4-6, 6-1, 6-3
Mark (Rutherford Marq) def. Scott Kathary (YoungSt) 6-7, 6-1, 6-2
(13) Sebastian Lystad (UIC) def. Mark Goldin (UWGB) 6-3, 5-7, 6-2
Reinoud Haal (Iowa) def. Derek Peterson (MINN.) 6-1, 3-6, 6-1
(3) Michael (Dierberger Wisc) def. Ryan Trapp (YoungSt) 6-3, 6-1
Pablo Camacho (Lville) def. Chris Herrlinger (Xav) 6-3, 7-5
Sean Corrigan (ND) def. (15) Anthony (WSU)Teufel – no score listed
Vanja Grugec (Dep) def. Piabowo Imanuel (ChiSt) 6-4, 6-3
(5) Eric Breitenbach (Butl) def. Gian Hodgson (Wisc) 6-4, 6-4
Ben Hartman (Dep) def. Brett Binkley (Marq) 6-1, 6-2
(12) Prakso Imanuel (ChiSt) def. Rob West (CSU) 7-6, 6-3
Knot Likitkumchorn (Tol) def. Mike Wagner (Val) 6-2, 6-1
Ben Raynauld (Butl) def. Sven Burus (Tol) 6-2, 6-4
(9) Dominic Ozanne (OSU) def. Adam Ford (NIU) 7-5, 6-4
Viktor Maksimcuk (Lville) def. Colon Alpar (Ill) 6-3, 6-0
(8) Peter Marrack (Wisc) def. David Seyferth (NW) 6-2, 4-6, 7-5
Tommy McGoerge (Iowa) def. Ra’ees Ismail (Xav) 6-1, 6-3
(14) Nick Boulieris (Marq) def. Jordan Knue (Ill) 7-6, 6-4
Pierre Dumas (MINN.) def. Dan Wilson (UIC) 6-2, 6-0
Jimmy Chu (NIU) def. (4) Jared Miller (Tol) 4-6, 7-5, 6-3
Adam Altepeter (MINN.) def. Alex Lau (Val) 7-5, 6-2
(11) Alex Friesen (NIU) def. Gabriel Garcia (IUPUI) 3-6, 6-3, 6-0
Bastian Harbo (UIC) def. Bryce Warren (Butl) 6-4, 4-6, 7-5
(6) Scott Bruckmann d(Mich) ef. Tim Prudlow (UWGB) 6-2, 6-4
Matt Parks (Mich) def. Bartosz Jozwiak (Dep) 7-6(2), 6-3
(16) Dan Stahl (ND) def. Bryan Norville (WMich) 2-6, 6-2, 6-2
Ty Schaub (OSU) def. Nicolos Camilleri (WSU) 6-1, 7-6(7)
(1) Eduardo Pavia (BSt) def. Stephen Shao (Marq) 7-6(7), 2-6, 6-1

— ND —