Blas Moros earned a singles win at the Tribe Invitational.

Men's Tennis Finishes Competition At The Illinois Invitational

Sept. 19, 2010

OLYMPIA FIELDS, Ill. – The University of Notre Dame’s men’s tennis team finished its three-day tournament at the Illinois Invitational on Sunday, claiming 10 victories at the Olympia Fields Country Club.

Freshman Greg Andrews (Gull Lake HS, Richland, Mich.) continued his strong collegiate debut defeating Illinois’ Connor Roth, 6-2, 6-2. Team captain Tyler Davis (Father Ryan, Nashville, Tenn) defeated Zach Leslie of Wake Forest in a three-set match, 5-7, 6-1, 6-4. Juniors Casey Watt (Pine-Richland, Gibsonia, Pa.) and Sam Keeton (Pembroke Hill, Kansas City, Mo.) each picked up a singles victory. Blas Moros (Pine Crest, Boca Raton, Fla.) earned two singles victories, defeating Alabama’s Trey Watson and Wake Forest’s Amogh Prabhakar. Newcomer Billy Pecor and senior Daniel Stahl (Walt Whitman HS, Bethesda, Md.) also won a singles match a piece.

In doubles, seniors Stahl and Davis defeated Alabama’s Jarryd Botha and Vikram Reddy, 8-5. Senior Matt Johnson and Keeton picked up a doubles victory against Ian Chadwell and Trey Watson of Alabama, 8-5.

The team ended the tournament earning 10 victories on Friday, six on Saturday and 10 today battling top-notch teams in the nation. University of Illinois was ranked at No. 32 in the ITA preseason rankings, followed by Wake Forest at No. 22 and the University of Illinois at No. 34.

The Irish resume their fall schedule October 1-3 at Harvard University in Cambridge, Mass.

Illinois Invitational – Sunday Results

Singles –

Tyler Davis (ND) def. Zach Leslie (WF), 5-7, 6-1, 6-4 #81 Jonathan Wolff (WF) def. #37 Casey Watt (ND), 6-2, 7-6 (3)

#26 Dennis Nevolo (ILL) def. Stephen Havens (ND), 6-2, 6-3 Greg Andrews (ND) def. Connor Roth (ILL), 6-2, 6-2 Michael Thompson (BAMA) def. Matt Johnson (ND), 6-2, 6-2 #69 Daniel Stahl (ND) def. Ian Chadwell (BAMA), 6-3, 6-4 #112 Blas Moros (ND) def. Trey Walston (BAMA), 6-0, 6-3 Billy Pecor (ND) def. Vikram Reddy (BAMA), 7-6 (8), 6-2 #37 Casey Watt (ND) def. Ricky Doverspike (BAMA), 6-3, 6-1

Sam Keeton (ND) def. Bruno Abdelnour (ILL), 6-3, 6-7 (4), 6-2 #112 Blas Moros (ND) def. Amogh Prabhakar (WF), 6-1, 4-6, 6-3 #26 Dennis Nevolo (ILL) def. Greg Andrews (ND), 6-3, 7-5

Doubles –

Daniel Stahl/Tyler Davis (ND) def. Jarryd Botha/Vikram Reddy (BAMA), 8-5 Matt Johnson/Sam Keeton (ND) def. Ian Chadwell/Trey Walston (BAMA), 8-5

*Illinois’ Dennis Nevolo named tournament’s Most Outstanding Player