Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Men's Tennis Downs Miami 5-2

March 11, 1999

MIAMI, Fla. – The 26th-ranked Notre Dame men’s tennis team, playing in their first outdoor match of the year, won the doubles point and won four of singles to beat 43rd-ranked Miami 5-2 in front of a boisterous Hurricane home crowd. Freshman Javier Taborga played in his first career dual singles match and won 7-5, 6-4 over Joel Berman at No. 6 singles. He also teamed with freshman Aaron Talarico to clinch the doubles point with an 8-6 win over Lieberman and Lindqvist. The Irish improve to 10-4 with their sixth straight win. The Hurricanes fall to 6-4.

Junior All-American Ryan Sachire, the second-ranked singles player in the country, beat Miami’s Jamin Thompson 6-3, 6-3 at No. 1 singles and teamed with senior Brian Patterson to beat Tarik El Bassouni and Ralph Hilt 8-2 at No. 1 doubles. Sophomore Matt Daly clinched the win for Notre Dame with a 6-4, 6-2 win over Mark Arrowsmith at No. 3 singles. Senior Brian Patterson rallied to beat Johan Lindqvist 6-7 (8), 6-1, 6-1 at No. 2 singles.

Miami’s Jose Lieberman and Arpad Odry won at Nos. 4 and 5 singles for the Hurricanes’ two point. The contest was rematch of the last three BIG EAST championship title matches, won by Miami in 1997 and 1998 and by Notre Dame in 1996. The Irish played the match without the services of freshman No. 4 singles player Andrew Laflin, who sat out with an injury and has an 11-0 record in 1999.

Notre Dame returns to the court on Thurs., March 18, when the Irish complete at the Blue-Gray National Classic in Montgomery, Ala.

#26 NOTRE DAME 5, #43 MIAMI 2

No. 1: #2 Ryan Sachire (ND) def. Jamin Thompson (UM) 6-3, 6-3
No. 2: Brian Patterson (ND) def. Johan Lindqvist (UM) 6-7 (8), 6-1, 6-1
No. 3: Matt Daly (ND) def. Mark Arrowsmith (UM) 6-4, 6-2 *
No. 4: Jose Lieberman (UM) def. Casey Smith (ND) 6-3, 6-3
No. 5: Arpad Odry (UM) def. Andy Warford (ND) 6-2, 1-6, 6-0
No. 6: Javier Taborga (ND) def. Joel Berman (UM) 7-5, 6-4

No. 1: Patterson/Sachire (ND) def. Tarik El Bassouni/Ralph Hilt (UM) 8-2
No. 2: Berman/Odry (UM) def. Trent Miller/Warford (ND) 9-7
No. 3: Taborga/Aaron Talarico (ND) def. Lieberman/Lindqvist (UM) 8-6 *