Oct. 6, 2000

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. — The Notre Dame men’s tennis team won five of six singles matches and swept three doubles matches against Middle Tennessee State on Friday at the Indiana State Invitational before losing five of singles matches against the host Sycamores. Notre Dame will play South Florida and play doubles against Indiana State on Saturday. Junior Casey Smith defeated Indiana State’s 28th-ranked Jonas Piirbor 5-7, 6-4, 6-1 for the only Irish win against the Sycamores.

Against Middle Tennessee State, freshman Luis Haddock-Morales improved to 9-0 in singles with his 6-4, 7-5 win over Oliver Foreman before suffering his first collegiate singles loss, falling 6-1, 3-6, 6-3 to Indiana State’s Vedran Vidovic. Juniors Andrew Laflin and James Malhame, sophomores Brian Farrell and Bryan Acken and freshman Matt Scott also split singles matches.

Senior Ashok Raju defeated Ohio State’s Patrick Munroe 6-7, 6-4, 1-0 (10-8), while senior Ricky Buhrman lost to Michigan State’s Josh Efros and Rodrigo Abucham. In doubles, Haddock-Morales and Smith won 8-1 over Robert Gustafsson and Oliver Foreman, while the teams Malhame and Scott and Farrell and Laflin also recorded wins. Irish juniors Javier Taborga and Aaron Talarico are competing at the WingspanBank.com/World Team Tennis National Collegiate Tennis Championships this weekend.


Robert Gustafsson (MTSU) def. Casey Smith (ND) 6-4, 5-7, 1-0 (10-7)

Luis Haddock-Morales (ND) def. Oliver Foreman (MTSU) 6-4, 7-5

Matt Scott (ND) def. Michael Staniak (MTSU) 6-4, 3-0, ret.

Andrew Laflin (ND) def. Mark Tellerin (MTSU) 6-2, 6-2

Brian Farrell (ND) def. Kirk Jackso (MTSU)n 6-4, 6-3

James Malhame (ND) def. Belal Hamadeh (MTSU) 6-2, 6-0

Bryan Acken (ND) def. Sean Bowen (MTSU) 6-1, 6-4

Ashok Raju (ND) def. Patrick Munroe (Ohio State) 6-7, 6-4, 1-0 (10-8)

Ricky Buhrman (ND) lost Josh Efros (Michigan State) 6-4, 6-2

Casey Smith (ND) def. Jonas Piirbor (ISU) 5-7, 6-4, 6-1

Vedran Vidovic (ISU) def. Luis Haddock-Morales (ND) 6-1, 3-6, 6-3

Lovre Brajkovic (ISU) def. Matt Scott (ND) 6-3, 6-3

Stefan Hir (ISU)n def. Andrew Laflin (ND) 7-5, 7-6

Henry Choi (ISU) def. Brian Farrell (ND) 6-2, 6-7, 6-4

Dalibor Mihajlovic (ISU) def. Bryan Acken (ND) 4-6, 6-2, 6-4

David O’Connell (ISU) def. James Malhame (ND) 5-7, 7-6, 6-2

Rodrigo Abucham (Michigan State) def. Ricky Buhrman (ND) 6-2, 5-7, 1-0 (11-9)


Smith/Haddock (ND) def. Forman/Gustafsson (MTSU) 8-1

Malhame/Scott (ND) def. Jackson/Tellerin (MTSU) 8-0

Farrell/Laflin (ND) def. Bowen/Hamadeh (MTSU) 8-1