Feb. 27, 2000

EVANSTON, Ill. — The 33rd-ranked Notre Dame men’s tennis team claimed the doubles point and won five singles matches to beat host Northwestern 6-1 win on Sunday. The Irish swept the doubles for a 1-0 lead, and sophomore Andrew Laflin won the clinching singles match for the second consecutive match for the Irish, who improve to 7-3 with the win. Notre Dame returns to action at the Pacific Coast Doubles in San Diego, Calif., March 3-5.

Irish seniors Trent Miller and Ryan Sachire jumped out to a fast start at No. 2 doubles with an 8-3 win over Jackie Jenkins and Russell Bennett. Sophomores James Malhame and Casey Smith then clinched the point by beating Josh Axler and Jamie Sahara 8-6 at No. 3 doubles. The 53rd-ranked sophomore team of Javier Taborga and Aaron Talarico completed the sweep with a 9-8 (7-1) victory at No. 1 doubles against Brad Erickson and Joost Hol. The win marked the fifth straight for Taborga and Talarico and third tiebreaker victory in the last four matches.

Sachire, Smith and Laflin then gave Notre Dame a 4-0 lead with singles wins. The 17th-ranked Sachire defeated Erickson 6-2, 6-3 at No. 1 singles to improve to 22-6 in singles. Smith then posted a 7-6 (7-1), 6-1 victory over Jenkins at No. 3 singles. Laflin — who won the decisive singles victory in Notre Dame’s 6-1 win over Purdue on Saturday — won the fourth Irish point by rallying to down Sahara 3-6, 6-0, 6-2 at No. 5 singles.

Irish junior Matt Daly defeated Hol 6-4, 6-3 at No. 2 singles, and freshman Brian Farrell won 6-4, 6-1 against Bennett at No. 6 singles in the second group of singles, as the match was contested on three courts. Axler beat Taborga 6-3, 6-3 at No. 4 singles for Northwestern’s point.


Singles No. 1: #17 Ryan Sachire (ND) def. Brad Erickson (NU) 6-2, 6-3

No. 2: Matt Daly (ND) def. Joost Hol (NU) 6-4, 6-3

No. 3: Casey Smith (ND) def. Jackie Jenkins (NU) 7-6 (1), 6-1

No. 4: Josh Axler (NU) def. Javier Taborga (ND) 6-3, 6-3

No. 5: Andrew Laflin (ND) def. Jamie Sahara (NU) 3-6, 6-0, 6-2

No. 6: Brian Farrell (ND) def. Russell Bennett (NU) 6-4, 6-1


No. 1: #53 Taborga/Talarico (ND) def. #44 Erickson/Hol (NU) 9-8 (1)

No. 2: Trent Miller/Sachire (ND) def. Bennett/Jenkins (NU) 8-3

No. 3: James Malhame/Smith (ND) def. Axler/Sahara (NU) 8-6