Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Men's Tennis Advances 10 Singles In Main Draw At Tom Fallon Invitational

Sept. 24, 1999

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — The host Notre Dame men’s tennis squad opened its 1999-2000 season by advancing 10 singles players in the main draw Friday in first day action of the Tom Fallon Invitational at the Courtney Tennis Center.

Tom Fallon Invitational
Tourney Drawicon_acrosmall.gif
Download Adobe Acrobat to
view the above “PDF” file

Notre Dame’s Javier Taborga, Casey Smith, Rob Warn, Bryan Acken, Ricky Buhrman and Adrian Hidaka all won their matches in straight sets, while Trent Miller, Brad Farrell and Tim Giattina defeated their opponents in three sets. Sophomore Aaron Talarico completed Notre Dame’s list of winners in the singles matches after Michigan’s Brad McFarland was forced to retire midway through the second set.

The Irish doubles teams, however, won only three of their seven doubles matches with the team of Taborga-Talarico advancing in the A doubles draw, following an 8-5 win over Indiana State’s Henry Choi and Stefan Hirn. Acken and Chancey Martin also picked up a win for Notre Dame in the B doubles draw before losing to teammates Andrew Laflin and Ashok Raju, 8-2.

The Tom Fallon Invitational, named for the former Notre Dame head coach, continues with quarterfinals and semifinals on Saturday, Sept. 25, while the finals will take place on Sunday, Sept. 26.