March 7, 1999

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The Notre Dame men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams wrapped up the Shamrock Classic at the Rolfs Aquatic Center by winning nine of 12 events on Saturday. The two-day meet consisted of swimmers from Notre Dame, Indiana and West Virginia.

Six different Notre Dame men’s swimmers won all six events. Junior Ray Fitzpatrick won 200-yard individual medley in 1:55.47, and junior Rob Fetter won 100-yard backstroke in 53.02. Sophomores Dan Szilier won the 200-yard breaststroke in 2:05.24, Matt Grunewald the 100-yard freestyle in 47.79 and Grant Burrall the 200-yard butterfly in 1:55.31. Freshman Travis Kline was Notre Dame’s sixth winner, claiming the 500-yard freestyle in 4:47.50.

Junior Alison Newell was a double winner for the Irish, winning the 200-yard individual medley in 2:08.96 and the 100-yard freestyle in 54.16. Notre Dame senior Meghan Eckstein won 100-yard backstroke in 1:00.34. West Virginia won the other three women’s events. Mountaineer freshman Laurie Felker, whose brother Jeff is a junior on the Notre Dame baseball team, won the 200-yard breaststroke in 2:24.34. West Virginia’s Anna Lyst won 200-yard butterfly in 2:12.55 and claimed the 500-yard freestyle in 5:07.20.