Head coach Martin Stone's team is coming off of a ninth-place finish at the 2006 NCAA Championships.

Meghan Boyle, Eileen Froehlke and Sarah Kate Hafner Named Captains For 2006-07 Season

Jan. 26, 2007

Notre Dame, Ind. – University of Notre Dame head coach Martin Stone has announced that seniors Meghan Boyle (Pittsburgh, Pa.), Eileen Froehlke (Pittsburgh, Pa.) and Sarah Kate Hafner (Tampa, Fla.) have been selected as captains for the 2006-07 Irish rowing team.

All three played a major part last season in Notre Dame’s historic and record-setting season that culminated with the Irish finishing ninth at the NCAA Championships after earning the school’s first-ever team bid.

Boyle, a fifth-year senior who missed the 2004-05 season with an injury, has rowed as a member of the Irish varsity eight boat for three seasons. The varsity eight boat earned the program’s highest ranking in school history a year ago when it finished fifth in the final Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA)/US Rowing poll.

Boyle sat in the varsity eight boat that took seventh at the NCAAs after winning the Petite Final. In addition, Notre Dame’s varsity eight crew won its first-ever gold medal at the Central/South Region Championships and also captured first at the BIG EAST Championships in leading the Irish their third consecutive team title. Notre Dame also took fourth in the prestigious Jessop-Whittier Cup race at the San Diego Crew Classic.

Froehlke served as coxswain for the second varsity eight boat during last season, while Hafner also rowed with the crew. The duo helped that boat to a 12th-place finish overall at the NCAA Championships and also guided the boat to the gold medal at the BIG EAST Championships and a first-place finish in the Petite Final of the second varsity eight race at the San Diego Crew Classic.

“I am excited that Meghan, Eileen and Sarah Kate will serve as our captains this year,” Stone says. “A key to our success last year was the leadership our captains provided to us. I know that each of these three look forward to being our leaders this season.”