Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Mattingly Fourth; Maggio Seventh at NCAA Zone Diving Meet

March 11, 2000

Minneapolis, Minn. – Notre Dame sophomore Heather Mattingly just missed qualifying for the national meet by placing fourth on the three-meter board today at the 2000 NCAA Zone Diving Championships in Minneapolis, Minn. Mattingly, who was fifth in the one-meter competition yesterday, finished with 451.40 points, just behind Traci LaVoi of Minnesota who was third with 455.45 points. The top three finishers advance to the NCAA Championships next weekend in Indianapolis. Indiana’s Sara Reiling won her second Zone C title, running away from the rest of the three-meter field with 511.80 points.

Other finishers for the Irish included senior Gina Ketelhohn, who finished her Notre Dame career placing seventh with 420.25 points. Senior Rhiana Saunders concluded her diving career with a 27th-place finish (204.90), while junior Karli Richards was 43rd with 167.30 points.

In the men’s competition, freshman Andy Maggio finished seventh on the one-meter board with 461.40 points. Maggio’s close friend, Irish senior Herb Huesman, was 10th with 450.95 points. Minnesota’s Dan Croatson won his second title of the meet with 568.15 points. Yesterday, Maggio was 14th on the three-meter board, while Huesman claimed sixth with 487.70 points.

Women’s Three-Meter Results: 1. Sara Reiling, Indiana 511.80 2. Carly Wieden, Michigan State 472.25 3. Tracy LaVoi, Minnesota 455.45 4. Heather Mattingly, Notre Dame 451.40 5. Melanie Johnson, Ohio State 432.85 6. Jennifer Sonneborn, Indiana 423.30 7. Gina Ketelhohn, Notre Dame 420.25 8. Rachel Degener, Minnesota 416.95 9. Jillian Cicione, Ohio State 413.05 10. Siobhan Kernan, Wisconsin 412.55

Other Notre Dame Results: 27. Rhiana Saunders 204.90 43. Karli Richards 167.30

Men’s One-Meter Results: 1. Dan Croatson, Minnesota 568.15 2. Tom Davidson, Indiana 523.95 3. Heath Knowling, Ohio State 488.85 4. Simon Chrisander, Iowa 485.40 5. Aaron Forgy, Wisconsin 482.15 6. Ryan Kosanic, Indiana 469.25 7. Andy Maggio, Notre Dame 461.40 8. Josh Trexler, Michigan 459.45 9. Eric Robson, Indiana 454.95 10. Herb Huesman, Notre Dame 450.95