Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Matt Carroll Named Finalist For Senior CLASS Award

Feb. 17, 2003

Irish senior Matt Carroll is one of ten finalists for college basketball’s Senior CLASS Award. CLASS is an acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School.

Carroll leads the team in scoring with a 20.6 scoring average and a 22.0 average in conference play. He is the only player who has scored in double figures in all 24 games, and heading into the game with West Virginia, has scored in double figures in 30 straight contests.

Carroll had a career-high 36-point outing against Georgetown in a 93-92 double overtime victory. He has topped the 30-point mark on three occasions this season and four times during his career. Carroll has scored 20-plus points in six of the last 11 games.

Carroll already owns the Notre Dame career three-point field goals made mark with 270. Heading into the contest against West Virginia, Carroll is just one start away from tying David Rivers’ (1984-88) career record of 116 career starts. Carroll enters the game with 115 starts in 123 career games

The CLASS award is designed to Celebrate the Loyalty of senior basketball players for remaining committed to their university, and honoring these student athletes for great Achievement on the court and in the classroom while Staying in School.

Carroll joins the likes of Brian Cook from Illinois, Jason Garder from the University of Arizona, Josh Howard from Wake Forest, Hollis Price from the University of Oklahoma, Nick Collison from the University of Kansas, Reece Gaines from Louisville, Kirk Hinrich from University of Kansas, Kyle Korver from Creighton University and David West from Xavier as finalists for the award.

The final winner will be selected based on a points system established to combine the ballots of three voting groups: 1) National media that covers college basketball 2) College basketball coaches, through NABC 3) Fan balloting, through Internet and retail locations. The male and female award winner will each be announced during the respective mens and womens NCAA Final Four weekends.

To place your vote for Matt Carroll, please visit