Senior linebacker Manti Te'o.

Manti Te'o Named Semifinalist For Maxwell And Bednarik Awards

Oct. 29, 2012

PHILADELPHIA – University of Notre Dame senior linebacker Manti Te’o has been named a semifinalist for both the Maxwell Award and Bednarik Award, the Maxwell Football Club announced today.

The Maxwell Award is presented annually to the player of the year in college football and the Bednarik Award is given to the outstanding defensive player in college football.

Sixteen players were selected as semifinalist candidates for the Maxwell Award and the Bednarik Award. Te’o was one of two players named to both Maxwell and Bednarik semifinalist lists.

One of the top defensive players in the country, Te’o has led a defensive renaissance at Notre Dame. He leads the Irish in tackles (80), interceptions (five), fumble recoveries (two) and is tied for team-high honors in pass breakups (three). He has been the top player on the defense ranked second in the nation in fewest points allowed per game, ninth in rushing defense, 11th in pass efficiency defense and 11th in total defense.

The winners of the 76th Maxwell Award and the 18th Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show which will be broadcast on ESPN on Dec. 6, 2012. Three finalists for each award will be announced on Nov. 19, 2012 and a second round of voting will take place at that time.

The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club’s Awards Gala which will be held on March 1, 2013 at the Harrah’s Entertainment Complex in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Semifinalist voting for both of the collegiate awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Oct. 30 and close on Nov. 18. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA head football coaches, sports information directors and selected national media.

2012 Maxwell Award Semifinalists
Montee Ball, Sr., RB, Wisconsin
Matt Barkley, Sr., QB, USC
Kenjon Barner, Sr., RB, Oregon
Giovani Bernard, So., RB, North Carolina
Johnathan Franklin, Sr., RB, UCLA
Mike Gillislee, Sr., RB, Florida
Jarvis Jones, Jr., LB, Georgia
Collin Klein, Sr., QB, Kansas State
Marqise Lee, So., WR, USC
EJ Manuel, Sr., QB, Florida State
Johnny Manziel, Fr., QB, Texas A&M
AJ McCarron, Jr., QB, Alabama
Braxton Miller, So., QB, Ohio State
Geno Smith, Sr., QB, West Virginia
Manti Te’o, Sr., LB, Notre Dame
De’Anthony Thomas, So., RB, Oregon

2012 Chuck Bednarik Award Semifinalists
Johnthan Banks, Sr., DB, Mississippi State
Arthur Brown, Sr., LB, Kansas State
Jadeveon Clowney, So., DE, South Carolina
Matt Elam, Jr., DB, Florida
Khaseem Greene, Sr., LB, Rutgers
Johnathan Hankins, Jr., DL, Ohio State
Jarvis Jones, Jr., LB, Georgia
Star Lotuleli, Sr., DL, Utah
Dee Milliner, Jr., DB, Alabama
Sam Montgomery, Jr., LB LSU
Damontre Moore, Jr., DL, Texas A&M
C.J. Mosley, Jr., LB, Alabama
Jordan Poyer, Sr., DB, Oregon State
Will Sutton, Jr., DL, Arizona State
Manti Te’o, Sr., LB, Notre Dame
Bjoern Werner, Jr., DL, Florida State