Luke Harangody was one of five BIG EAST players selected to one of the three AP All-America teams.

Luke Harangody Tabbed As Third Team Associated Press All-American

March 29, 2010

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Irish forward Luke Harangody (Schererville, Ind.) was named to the Associated Press All-America third team. Harangody earns AP All-America accolades for the third straight year after garnering second team honors following his sophomore and junior seasons.

The senior captain becomes Notre Dame’s first three-time AP All-American since Kevin O’Shea from 1948-50 and was one of five BIG EAST players to earn a spot on one of the three teams.

Harangody led Notre Dame in scoring and rebounding for the third straight season as he averaged 21.8 points and 9.1 rebounds. He finished his career with 2.476 points and 1,222 rebounds and ranks as the second-most productive player in the 105-year history of the Irish basketball program in each of those two categories.

One of just 11 players in BIG EAST history to earn first team all-conference honors three times, he concluded his career third on the league’s all-time career scoring (1,329 points) and second in career rebounding (662). Harangody was on pace to become the league’s all-time leader in both of those categories, but missed five regular-season games after suffering a deep bone bruise on his right knee in mid-February. He averaged 20.4 points and 10.2 rebounds in 65 career league outings to become the only player in BIG EAST history to post career averages of 20.0 points and 10.0 rebounds.

Selected as AP first team members were freshmen John Wall and DeMarcus Cousins of Kentucky, juniors Evan Turner of Ohio State and Wes Johnson of Syracuse, and Scottie Reynolds of Villanova.

The second team was comprised of James Anderson of Oklahoma State, Sherron Collins of Kansas, Greivis Vasquez of Maryland, Jon Scheyer of Duke and Da’Sean Butler of West Virginia.

Joining Harangody on the third team were Greg Monroe of Georgetown, Cole Aldrich of Kansas, Damion James of Texas and Darington Hobson of New Mexico.