Two-time All-American Luke Harangody begins the 2009-10 season as one of the nation's top players.

Luke Harangody Named To 2009-10 Naismith Trophy Preseason Watch List

Nov. 5, 2009


2009-10 Naismith Trophy Preseason Watch List in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Luke Harangody (Scherervile, Ind.), who earlier this week was named the leading vote-getter on the Associated Press Preseason All-America Team, was one of 50 players named to the 2009-10 Naismith Trophy Preseason Watch List, as announced by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

Harangody is one of 19 seniors on the list, followed by 14 juniors, 12 sophomores and five freshmen. The BIG EAST and Atlantic Coast conferences had the most representatives on the list with nine apiece, while the Big XII and Southeastern conferences each had eight.

The watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2009-10 college basketball season. The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T will be awarded at the 2010 NCAA Men’s Final Four in Indianapolis, Ind.

Since 2005, presenting sponsor AT&T has set the standard in allowing fans to participate in determining the trophy winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging, fan voting will account for an unprecedented 25% of the final results – more than any other national college basketball award. In February, during CBS’ coverage of college basketball, the “AT&T at the Half” segment will feature a Naismith Trophy update highlighting the players in contention for the award.

In late February, the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors will compile a mid-season team of the Top 30 players in the nation. Then in March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will vote to narrow the list to the four finalists

For more information, visit