May 23, 1999

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Notre Dame outfielder Lizzy Lemire (Irvine, Calif.) and pitcher Jennifer Sharron (Agoura Hills, Calif.) have been selected to the all-tournament team at this weekend’s NCAA Region 6 Softball Tournament in Ann Arbor, Mich. The two sophomores led the Irish (42-20) to a 1-2 mark at the regional, including a 1-0 victory over top-seeded Michigan.

Lemire, one of four unanimous selections on the 12-member team, led the Irish in batting with a .556 batting average (5-for-9) including two doubles, a run and two RBI. The 1999 BIG EAST first team selection scored the winning run in Notre Dame’s 1-0 win over top-seeded Michigan and also drove in two runs in the bottom of the seventh inning in a 4-3 eight-inning loss to Nebraska.

Lemire, an All-Mideast Region second team selection, also moved into the team lead in batting, finishing out the season with a .351 mark.

Sharron was the pitcher of record in all three games, going 1-2 with a 1.34 ERA. She also drove in the winning run in Notre Dame’s win over Michigan and became the first Irish pitcher to record 20 wins in a season since Terri Kobata went 24-2 in 1995. The two-time BIG EAST Pitcher of the Year was second on the team in batting at the regional with a .286 (2-for-7) average and a RBI. For the season, Sharron, an All-Mideast Region second team selection, carried a record of 20-10 on the mound with a 1.20 ERA and was third on the team in batting with a .336 average.

Arizona State, which won the regional with a 4-2 win over Nebraska, placed four players on the all-tournament team, including the Most Outstanding Player, pitcher Kirsten Voak. The Sun Devils advance to play Washington at the Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City, Okla., May 27-31.

1999 NCAA Regional 6 Softball Tournament
All-Tournament Team

Notre Dame – Lizzy Lemire, outfielder * ; Jennifer Sharron, pitcher
Arizona State – Kirsten Voak, pitcher *; Jamie Hlebechuck, outfielder; Jennifer Gall, utility; Erica Beach, pitcher/utility*
Nebraska – Jennifer Lizama, infielder; Jennifer Voss, pitcher*
Florida Atlantic – Michelle Shirah, infielder; Suzanne Flege, infielder
Central Michigan – Nicole Weston, pitcher
Michigan – Marie Barda, pitcher

Most Outstanding Player: Kirsten Voak, pitcher, Arizona State

* = Unanimous selection