Sophomore tight end Kyle Rudolph will be the guest for the Official Notre Dame Football Raido Show on Monday, Sept. 21.

Kyle Rudolph Named To Mackey Award Watch List

July 29, 2009

MANHASSET, N.Y. – University of Notre Dame sophomore tight end Kyle Rudolph (Cincinnati, Ohio/Elder) has been named to the 2009 John Mackey Award watch list released today by the Nassau County Sports Commission. Given annually to the best collegiate tight end, Rudolph is one of 30 players – and the only sophomore – placed on the watch list.

Rudolph burst onto the scene in 2008 becoming the first Notre Dame tight end in school history to start every game in his freshman season. He set school records for a freshman by tallying 29 receptions for 340 yards and also scored two touchdowns.

The 6-6, 260-pounder recorded a career-high five receptions versus Purdue for 70 yards and a TD. His season-long reception of 29 yards came in the Sheraton Hawaii Bowl against Hawaii and helped Rudolph establish a season-best 78 receiving yards on four catches.

Rudolph enters 2009 atop the Notre Dame depth chart at tight end and is one of 10 returning starters on the Irish offense.

The Mackey Award is named after NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey and has been presented since 2000. The award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2009 award winner will be announced on Dec. 10, 2009.

2009 John Mackey Award Watch List
Player, Year, School
Jeffrey Anderson, JR, UAB
Jake Ballard, SR, Ohio State
Greg Boone, SR, Virginia Tech
Nate Byham, SR, Pittsburgh
Jeff Cottam, SR, Tennessee
Ed Dickson, SR, Oregon
Richard Dickson, SR, LSU
TC Drake, SR, Kentucky
Charlie Gantt, JR, Michigan State
Riar Geer, SR, Colorado
Garrett Graham, SR, Wisconsin
Jermaine Gresham, SR, Oklahoma
Rob Gronkowski, JR, Arizona
Aaron Hernandez, JR, Florida
Mike Hoomanawanui, SR, Illinois
Blaine Irby, JR, Texas
Jeron Mastrud, SR, Kansas St
Anthony McCoy, SR, USC
Mike McNeil, JR, Nebraska
Tony Moeaki, SR, Iowa
Ryan Moya, SR, UCLA
Logan Paulsen, SR, UCLA
Dennis Pitta, SR, BYU
Andrew Quarless, JR, Penn St
Kyle Rudolph, SO, Notre Dame
Weslye Saunders, JR, South Carolina
Cody Slate, JR, Marshall
Tommy Trott, SR, Auburn
DJ Williams, JR, Arkansas
Ben Wooster, SR, Wake Forest