Kristy Frilling was selected to represent the United State at the Master'U BNP Paribas for the second consecutive year.

Kristy Frilling Selected To Team USA For Master'U BNP Paribas

Nov. 19, 2010

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – University of Notre Dame women’s tennis player Kristy Frilling has been selected to represent the United States in the fifth annual Master’U BNP Paribas, it was announced by the USTA on Thursday.

The event is an international collegiate competition to be held December 9-12 in Rouen, France and features eight teams composed of college and university players from around the world. Frilling is one of six competitors chosen for the American squad, and one of three females picked – along with Maria Sanchez of USC and Allie Will of Florida.

The U.S., which defeated France to win the 2009 title, will be competing for the third consecutive year against a talented field that includes teams from Belgium, China, France, Germany, Great Britain, Ireland and Switzerland. The teams will compete in a best-of-seven format consisting of two men’s and two women’s singles matches, one men’s and one women’s doubles match, and one mixed doubles match.

The nomination for Frilling is her second in as many years, as she was a part of the team that was victorious last year.

Frilling, who currently sits as the No. 8 ranked player in the ITA Preseason Division I singles rankings, enters the tournament with plenty of confidence after a successful fall season. The Sidney, Ohio native completed her tour season with an 8-2 record, including 5-2 against nationally-ranked foes.

She recently qualified for the USTA/ITA National Indoor Championships after claiming the top spot at the ITA Midwest Regional, and reached the Round of 32 after knocking off Bianca Eichkorn of Miami (FL) 6-4, 6-0.

Greg Patton, the head coach of the Boise State University men’s tennis team, and Mark Guilbeau, the head women’s tennis coach at the University of Virginia, will coach the United States team. Patton served as the coach that helped lead the U.S. to the 2009 title.