Anna Kottkamp ('15) is the first Notre Dame student-athlete to win the NCAA Elite 89 Award multiple times after finishing with the highest grade-point average among all Division I rowers at the NCAA Championship for the second straight season

Kottkamp Repeats As NCAA Elite 89 Award Winner

May 28, 2015

GOLD RIVER, Calif. — University of Notre Dame rowing 2015 graduate Anna Kottkamp (Wenatchee, Washington) was named the Division I recipient of the NCAA Elite 89 Award for the second consecutive year on Thursday morning at the NCAA Championship opening banquet. The Elite 89 Award is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point average participating at a finals site for each of the NCAA’s 89 championships.

Kottkamp is the first repeat Notre Dame winner of the NCAA Elite 89 Award after taking home the honor at the 2014 NCAA Championship in Indianapolis. Kottkamp is one of four different Irish Elite 89 recipients to receive recognition at an NCAA Championship, along with Michael Shipp (men’s soccer, 2013), Tyler Brenneman (men’s lacrosse, 2012) and Colleen Rielley (women’s tennis, 2010).

Kottkamp graduated with a cumulative 4.00 grade-point average and a degree in environmental science from the Notre Dame College of Science on May 17, representing the University of Notre Dame Class of 2015 as its valedictorian. A 2015 Capital One Academic All-District V At-Large first team selection, Kottkamp was also the recipient of a pair of prestigious university awards, receiving the Byron V. Kanaley Award and the Top Gun Award at Notre Dame’s 14th annual O.S.C.A.R.S. (Outstanding Student-Athletes Celebrating Achievement & Recognition Showcase) gala on April 29.

Selected to the 2015 Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) Division I Region 3 all-region second team, a three-time CRCA National-Scholar Athlete (2013-15) and the 2014 Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) Rowing Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Kottkamp is competing as a member of the Notre Dame first varsity eight at the NCAA Championship for the third straight season this weekend. She was also named to the all-BIG EAST Conference second team in 2013 as a member of Notre Dame’s 10th consecutive BIG EAST Championship winning team.

No. 16 Notre Dame is scheduled to begin the 2015 NCAA Championship on Friday at 9:30 a.m. (PT) on Lake Natoma at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center.