Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Kelly Named Semifinalist for George Munger College Coach of the Year

NOTRE DAME, Indiana — Dick Corbett Head Football Coach Brian Kelly has been named a semifinalist for the George Munger College Coach of the Year Award, which is presented yearly by the Maxwell Football Club. Kelly is one of 12 semifinalists for the honor. 

This week, he has also been named ACC Coach of the Year by the conference, the Associated Press and the Bear Bryant Award, and a finalist for the Dodd Trophy and National Bear Bryant Award. 

In his 30th season as a collegiate head coach in 2020 and 11th year at the University of Notre Dame, Kelly owns the second-most wins (102ˆ) among all head coaches in Notre Dame’s history, second only to Knute Rocke (105), and Kelly is the winningest active coach in the FBS with 273ˆ career wins. 

Kelly has posted threeˆ undefeated regular seasons in his time at Notre Dame. He was named AP ACC Coach of the Year in 2020, and is the only three-time winner of the Home Depot Coach of the Year Award (‘09, ‘12, ‘18). With 10 or more wins in 2012ˆ, 2015, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020, Kelly is the only Notre Dame coach to hit the double-digit mark in wins six times. 

In 2020, he notched his first win over an AP No. 1 team with the 47-40 win over Clemson (Nov. 7, 2020). With the 52-0 shoutout of South Florida, he became the third coach in Notre Dame history with three or more wins of at least 25 points over ranked teams, joining Lou Holtz and Frank Leahy (eight).

He joins Knute Rockne (13), Leahy, Ara Parseghian and Holtz (11) as the only Notre Dame coaches to spend 11 or more seasons on the Irish sidelines. He ranks second in winning percentage among active FBS coaches (.741ˆ) who have coached in 300 or more career games (Nick Saban – .795). He has finished .500 or better in 28-of-30 seasons as a head coach.

ˆ -Includes 20 regular-season wins and two postseason appearances vacated under discretionary NCAA penalty