Katie Thorlakson will be featured on ESPN News during the Hermann Trophy press conference (Jan. 6; 7;10 p.m. EST).

Katie Thorlakson To Be Featured On ESPN News During Hermann Trophy Ceremony (Jan. 6; 7:10 EST)

Jan. 6, 2006

Notre Dame women’s soccer senior forward Katie Thorlakson will be honored Friday night, Jan. 6, at the annual Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy Award ceremonies. Thorlakson – one of three finalists for the prestigious player-of-the-year trophy – will join the other women’s finalists and the three men’s finalists at a formal press conference to be telecast Friday night on ESPN News at approximately 7:10 p.m. EST. The seven-minute program will introduce all six of the finalists (with video tributes) and will culminate with announcing the winners of the distinctive crystal soccer ball trophy.

The press conference will take place in downtown St. Louis at the Missouri Athletic Club’s first-floor Art Lounge. The M.A.C. Hermann Trophy Dinner – also held on the night of Jan .6 – is open to the public. The event includes a cocktail hour at 5:45 p.m. CST, the press conference, dinner at 7:00 p.m. and the program at 8:00 p.m CST. Don Garber, the commissioner of Major League Soccer, will be the featured speaker and Notre Dame’s Randy Waldrum will join five other coaches in speaking about their players who are the finalists for the 2005 awards.

The banquet price is $60 per person. Reservations can be made by calling (314) 539-4470.

Check back soon to und.com for a complete recap of all 2005 women’s soccer postseason awards.