Justin Morrow was the starting left back for the MLS All-Star squad that defeated Chelsea, 3-2.

Justin Morrow Named An MLS All-Star

July 20, 2012

2012 AT&T MLS All-Star Game Web Site

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Former Notre Dame standout and current San Jose Earthquake left back Justin Morrow has been named a 2012 Major League Soccer (MLS) All-Star. The MLS All-Stars will face Chelsea from the English Premier League in the 2012 AT&T MLS All-Star Game July 25 at PPL Park in Chester, Pa. The match will be aired live at 8:30 p.m. (ET) on ESPN2 and Telefutura.

Morrow, a 2010 Notre Dame graduate, was selected by MLS All-Star head coach Ben Olsen to replace the injured Heath Pearce (New York Red Bulls) on the all-star roster. Morrow is the second former Irish player to be named an MLS All-Star. Matt Besler, a 2009 Notre Dame graduate and current Sporting Kansas City defender, was an all-star last season.

The Earthquakes selected Morrow in the second round (28th overall pick) of the 2010 MLS SuperDraft. He has one goal and two assists in 21 games in his first season as a regular starter for the first-place Quakes. Morrow is the only Earthquake to play every minute on the pitch so far this season.

Morrow, a native of Cleveland, Ohio, earned a start in 64 of the 89 career games he played at Notre Dame and registered 21 points on seven goals and seven assists. He served as a team captain during his senior campaign and started every match that season, tallying two goals and one assist en route to copping second-team all-BIG EAST honors.

Goalkeepers (2): Dan Kennedy (Chivas USA), Jimmy Nielsen (Sporting Kansas City)

Defenders (6): Steven Beitashour (San Jose Earthquakes), Aurélien Collin (Sporting Kansas City), Ramiro Corrales (San Jose Earthquakes), Jay DeMerit (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Justin Morrow (San Jose Earthquakes), Carlos Valdes (Philadelphia Union)

Midfielders (6): Osvaldo Alonso (Seattle Sounders FC), David Beckham (LA Galaxy), Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Dwayne De Rosario (D.C. United), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards (4): Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls), Eddie Johnson (Seattle Sounders FC), Chris Pontius (D.C. United), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)