Jerian Grant is one of eight players from the ACC named to the Wooden Award Watch List.

Jerian Grant Named To Wooden Top 50 Watch List

Nov. 18, 2014

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – For the second consecutive year, University of Notre Dame senior guard Jerian Grant (Bowie, Md.) has been selected to the 2014-15 John R. Wooden Award Top 50 Watch List. Grant is one of eight nominees from the Atlantic Coast Conference under consideration for the award.

The John R. Wooden Award, created in 1976, is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. Those who receive the award are among the nation’s best student-athletes and must maintain at least a 2.0 GPA to prove that they are on the path towards graduation. Past recipients of the award include Larry Bird (1979), Michael Jordan (1984), Kevin Durant (2009) and Doug McDermott (2014).

In early January, the Wooden Award National Advisory Board will select 25 players for the midseason list. That number will be narrowed to 15 in early February and the award winner will be announced the week of the “Elite Eight” round of the NCAA Tournament.

Grant, a preseason first team all-ACC conference selection, is averaging 15.5 points. 5.5 rebounds, 7.5 assists and 3.0 steals in Notre Dame’s first two contests. The 6-5, 203-pound senior is shooting 45.5 percent (10-22) from the field after leading Notre Dame to 43 and 39-point victories in its opening two games.

Grant has started 81 of the 83 games he has played in during his career, scored 1,142 points (13.8 ppg.), dished off 452 assists (5.4 aspg.) and made 118 steals (1.4 spg.). He has reached double figures in 67 career outings, netted 20-plus points in 14 games, dished off 10 or more assists in five contests and registered five career double-doubles. Grant registered his first double-double of the season in Notre Dame’s win over Navy as he finished with 17 points and matched a career high with 10 rebounds.

The ACC led the way with eight players on the list. The seven other nominees from ACC institutions included Malcolm Brogdon (Virginia), Olivier Hanlan (Boston College), Montrezl Harrell (Louisville), Tyus Jones (Duke), Jahlil Okafor (Duke), Marcus Paige (North Carolina) and Terry Rozier (Louisville).

Single game tickets are available at the Murnane Family Ticket Center. For more information, call 574-631-7356 or visit

For breaking news and information, fans can follow Notre Dame Men’s Basketball all season on twitter (@NDmbb).