Head coach Jeff Jackson and his Notre Dame hockey team will find out Sunday if they are in the NCAA Tournament.

Jeff Jackson Named A Finalist For Spencer Penrose Award

March 31, 2007

Notre Dame, Ind. – Notre Dame head hockey coach Jeff Jackson is one of 11 finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award, given annually to the NCAA Division One Men’s Hockey coach of the year.

Jackson, who in his second season behind the Notre Dame bench, led the Irish to a 32-7-3 overall record and a 21-4-3 record in the CCHA during the 2006-07 season. He guided Notre Dame to its’ first-ever CCHA regular-season title and the CCHA tournament championship. Jackson was named the CCHA coach of the year at the CCHA Awards Banquet on March 15 in Detroit, Mich. His Irish squad advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the second time in its’ history, winning a 3-2 double-overtime decision versus Alabama-Huntsville, before falling 2-1 to Michigan State in the Midwest Regional final on March 24.

Now in his eighth season as a Division I head coach, Jackson owns a 227-78-32 career record (.721) and in two seasons at Notre Dame, the Roseville, Michigan native is 45-26-7 (.622). He was nominated for the award in 1991 when he was head coach at Lake Superior State.

To be a finalist for the Spencer Penrose Award, a coach must either be voted his conference coach of the year or guide his team to the NCAA Frozen Four.

Included on the list are five former Penrose Award winners: Rick Comley (Michigan State) who won it in 1980 and 1991 at Northern Michigan; Joe Marsh (St. Lawrence) who won in 1989 and 2000; Dick Umile (New Hampshire), the 1999 winner; Tim Whitehead (Maine), won it in 2002; and Jerry York (Boston College), the 1977 winner at Clarkson.

Spencer Penrose FinalistsDave Burkholder, Niagara*Rick Comley, Michigan State#@Dave Hakstol, North Dakota#Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame*Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence*@Bob Motzko, St. Cloud State*Brian Riley, Army*Jamie Russell, Michigan Tech*Dick Umile, New Hampshire*@Tim Whitehead, Maine#@Jerry York, Boston College#@

* Conference Coach of the Year# NCAA “Frozen Four” Participant@ Previous Winner of the Spencer Penrose Award

The award is named in honor of the former Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first 10 NCAA Hockey Championships. It will be presented at the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Coach of the Year Banquet on Saturday, April 28, in Naples, Fla.