Christine Halfpenny has led the Irish to the NCAA Championship in each of her first four years at Notre Dame.

IWLCA Academic Honor Squad Five-Peat For Irish

Aug. 17, 2015

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The all-around success of the Notre Dame women’s lacrosse program saw another checkbox filled in on Monday as the Irish were once again named an IWLCA Academic Honor Squad for maintaining a team GPA above 3.0.

Notre Dame has been named both an IWLCA Academic Honor Squad and earned a berth in the NCAA Championship following each of head coach Christine Halfpenny’s first four years at the helm.

Expectations for the Irish to make it five-for-five in each category abound in 2016. Notre Dame returns 11 of its 12 starters from 2015, including four All-Americans in Cortney Fortunato (first-team), Barbara Sullivan (first-team), Alex Dalton (second-team) and Casey Pearsall (third-team). Meanwhile, the Irish add a recruiting class which included three Team USA starters from the recent Under-19 World Championships.