Matt Schipper finished second in the pole vault and set an NCAA regional qualifying mark Friday.

Irish Wrap Up Day One of Meyo Invitational

Feb. 6, 2009


Day One Results Get Acrobat Reader

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Several Irish student-athletes found success one the first day of events at the 22nd annual Meyo Invitational, held at the Loftus Sports Center.

Women’s 300m: Joanna Schultz took the top spot with a time of 38.37, followed by Natalie Geiger in second at 39.51.

Women’s 500m: Allison Schroeder finished fourth with a time of 1:15.39, and Samantha Williams was ninth in 1:16.38.

Women’s 1000m: Michigan State’s Leah Elenbaas edged out Abby Higgins to take the top spot. Elenbaas finished in 2:50.32, just ahead of Higgins at 2:50.98. Molly Sullivan finished 11th with a time of 2:56.42 and Gena Bleyer finished 25th in 3:02.89.

Women’s 5000m: Louisville’s Emily Borsare crossed the line first in 16:51.70. Heidi Rocha finished third in 17:20.32. Beth Tacl was 11th with a time of 17:45.08, followed by Erica Watson in 12th at 17:47.80. Emily Wauford finished 17th with a time of 17:53.77.

Women’s Distance Medley Relay: Michigan took the top spot with a time of 11:10.23.

Women’s Weight Throw: Anna Weber was the top collegiate finisher, but placed second with a mark of 18.82m.

Women’s Long Jump: Minnesota’s Christin Kingsley won the event with a jump of 6.11m. Maddie Buttinger was 16th with a mark of 5.51m, followed by Jaime Minor in 17th at 5.49m. Jasmine Williams finished 26th at 5.09m, just ahead of Sasha Blanchard in 27th at 5.06m.

Men’s 300m: Wisconsin runners took the top two spots, as Balazs Molnar finished fifth with a time of 34.79 for Notre Dame. Alex Korenstra was 12th in 35.16, while Nick Tammerine finished 26th with a time of 35.97, Justin Schneider was 28th in 36.05, Sean Lindbloom crossed the line in 36.84 to finish 35th, Ronnie Kadykowski finished 36th in 36.92 and Sean Reed was 37th in 36.99.

Men’s 500m: Billy Buzaid finished first with a time of 1:02.82, Jack Howard was fifth in 1:04.43, Cameron Eckert finished 10th with a time of 1:04.94, and Matthew Brown was 13th in 1:05.23.

Men’s 1000m: Eastern Illinois’ David Holm finished first in 2:23.41. Kevin Labus finished seventh in 2:27.23, followed by Randall Babb in eighth at 2:27.30.

Men’s 5000m: Patrick Smyth won the event with a time of 14:00.07. Dan Jackson finished ninth in 14:24.28, followed by Ryan Jacobs in 10th with a time of 14:42.90.

Men’s Distance Medley Relay: Eastern Michigan took the top spot with a time of 9:56.11.

Men’s Weight Throw: Greg Davis was the top Irish finisher, recording a mark of 17.92m to finish eighth. Jeff Mensch finished 11th with a toss of 16.93m, John Belcher finished 14th at 16.59m, Denes Veres recorded a mark of 16.09m to finish 18th and Andrew Hills finished 22nd with a toss of 15.46m.

Men’s Long Jump: Eric Quick finished fourth for the Irish with a mark of 7.27m, and Justin Schneider finished 26th with a jump of 6.48m.

Men’s Pole Vault: Matt Schipper set a new personal best and an NCAA provisional qualifying mark with a vault of 5.22m, good enough for third place. Kevin Schipper finished fourth at 5.12m, Jim Merchun was 20th at 4.57m and Brian Mahon finished 22nd with a mark of 4.42m.

The second day of the Meyo Invitational gets underway Saturday at 9 a.m.