Ferguson finished third in 20:58.62 at the 2009 NCAA Great Lakes Regional meet.

Irish Women Win Great Lakes Regional Crown

Nov. 14, 2009

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – The Notre Dame women’s cross country team won the 2009 Great Lakes Regional Championship Saturday as five Irish runners finished in the top 40 individually.

The Irish scored 94 points, winning the title for the first time since 2003, and automatically qualified for the NCAA Championships.

Three members of the women’s squad garnered all-region recognition for their efforts on the course. Senior Lindsey Ferguson led the Irish women with a third-place finish and a time of 20:58.62. Freshman Jessica Rydberg clocked in at 21:23.84 to finish 10th, and sophomore Rachel Velarde finished 15th with a time of 21:32.40.

Junior Marissa Treece crossed the line in 21:57.99 to finish 30th, followed by junior Erica Watson in 36th at 22:06.34. Freshman Rebecca Tracy finished 79th with a time of 22:44.84, and senior Beth Tacl was 103rd in 23:04.50.

Ohio State finished second with 102 points, followed by Michigan in third with 104. Indiana and Michigan State rounded out the top five.

Michigan State’s Emily MacLeod was the top individual finisher with a time of 20:42.70.

The Irish men finished seventh with 205 total points.

Senior Jake Walker earned all-region honors with a ninth-place finish and a time of 31:21.10. Sophomore Joe Miller finished 35th in 32:04.11, just ahead of junior Dan Jackson in 39th with a time of 32:10.75. Sophomore Jordan Carlson clocked in at 32:34.90 to finish 57th, sophomore Johnathan Shawel was 65th in 32:46.31, junior Ryan Jacobs finished 74th with a time of 32:57.92 and junior Paul Springer was 131st in 34:16.88.

Wisconsin won the team title with 62 points, followed by Michigan State in second with 128 and Ohio State in third with 144 total points. Indiana and Butler closed out the top five.

Ohio State’s Jeff See took home the men’s individual crown with a time of 31:03.16.

The top two teams at the regional meets automatically qualify for the NCAA Championships. Thirteen at-large bids will also be awarded. The top-four individual regional finishers, whose teams did not qualify for the national meet, will also be selected to compete in the NCAA Championships, which will be held Nov. 23 in Terre Haute, Ind.

Great Lakes Regional Results

Men’s Team: 1. Wisconsin (62); 2. Michigan State (128); 3. Ohio State (144); 4. Indiana (151); 5. Butler (192); 7. Notre Dame (205)

Men’s Individual: 9. Jake Walker 31:21.10; 35. Joe Miller 32:04.11; 39. Dan Jackson 32:10.75; 57. Jordan Carlson 32:34.90; 65. Johnathan Shawel 32:46.31; 74. Ryan Jacobs 32:57.92; 131. Paul Springer 34:16.88

Women’s Team: 1. Notre Dame (94); 2. Ohio State (102); 3. Michigan (104); 4. Indiana (105); 5. Michigan State (121)

Women’s Individual: 3. Lindsey Ferguson 20:58.62; 10. Jessica Rydberg 21:23.84; 15. Rachel Velarde 21:23.40; 30. Marissa Treece 21:57.99; 36. Erica Watson 22:06.34; 79. Rebecca Tracy 22:44.84; 103. Beth Tacl 23:04.50