Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Irish Varsity Eight Places First At Milwaukee River Challenge

Sept. 22, 2001

Milwaukee, Wis. – Notre Dame claimed three of the first five spots in the varsity eight race at the Milwaukee Crew Classic on the water of the Milwaukee River in Milwaukee,Wis. The races were contested as the best combined times of two sprint races over the 2.2-mile course, with the second race covering the same water only going in the opposite direction.

The first varsity eight crew, ranked 16th in the country last year, of Ann Marie Dillhoff, Diane Price, Katherine Burnett, Casey Buckstaff, Nataile Ladine, Ashlee Warren, Michelle Olsgard, Jayme Szefc and coxswain Cassie Markstahler placed first in a time of 22:14. National power Wisconsin was second in 22.32.08, followed by Notre Dame’s second varsity eight crew of Danielle Protasewich, Melissa Alberding, Maureen Carr, Katie Welsh, Courtney Mercer, Erica Drennan, Kerri Murphy, Katie Besson and Kathy Long. Notre Dame’s third varsity eight of Michaele Carney, Alicia Garcia, Kati Sedun, Meredith Thornburgh, Elizabeth Spacht, Annie Starks, Beth Franzosa and Kacy McCaffrey was fifth.

The second varsity four team of Rebecca Campbell, Kristen Henkel, Katie O’Hara, Kristen Mizzi and Caitlin Rackish was fifth in 27.07. Wisconsin won the varsity four race in a time of 25.59. The first varsity four of Karrie Koski, Megan Sanders, Kolleen Myers, Meg Feely and Markstahler was sixth in 27.17.

Notre Dame is next in action on Oct.13, at the Chicago Chase in Chicago, Ill., and Oct. 14 at the Head of the Rock in Rockford, Ill.