Senior coxswain Abby Meyers will make her second career NCAA Championship appearance

Irish Varsity Eight Earns Top-15 Finish Against Elite Competition At Head Of The Charles

Oct. 21, 2012

HOC Champ Eight Get Acrobat Reader

HOC Champ Four Get Acrobat Reader

BOSTON, Mass. – The University of Notre Dame rowing team worked from the back of the pack to register a 12th place finish Sunday in the championship eight race at the 48th Head of The Charles Regatta on the Charles River.

The Fighting Irish varsity eight, the 31st boat in the 40-team field, completed the race in 17:21.23. The Notre Dame crew of coxswain Abby Meyers, Ailish Sheehan, Anna Kottkamp, Molly Bruggeman, Courtney Gaberino, Erin Boxberger, Joanna Poinsatte, Stephanie O’Neill and Rose Doerfler finished ahead of 24 other collegiate entries, including a crew comprised of members from defending national champion Virginia (15th place-17:27.18).

The 2012 Olympic gold medal winning United States Rowing team claimed the overall win in the championship eight, posting a time of 16:13.49. The Cambridge Boat Club earned runner-up honors in 16:22.15, while an additional Virginia entry crossed in 16:35.16 as the top collegiate finisher. The London Rowing Club (16:41.29) and Knrb (16:46.18) rounded out the top-five in the championship eight.

Notre Dame also fielded an entrant in the women’s championship four, and the Fighting Irish varsity four crew of coxswain Christina Dines, Teresa Rubinger, Paige Aiello, Kelsey Sekanick and Teresa Blumenstein clocked in at 20:09.96 for an 11th place showing. The Rowing Canada Aviron won the championship four with a time of 18:32.10, followed by the Vesper Boat Club (18:57.11), Yale (19:15.68), Virginia (19:21.59) and Brown (19:23.20).

Notre Dame returns to the water for its final competition of the fall season, a tri-race with Ohio State and Michigan, Nov. 10 in Columbus, Ohio.