Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Irish Trio Named To Maxwell, Bednarik Watch Lists

July 10, 2017

NOTRE DAME, Indiana – Graduate offensive tackle Mike McGlinchey and junior running back Josh Adams of the University of Notre Dame were both selected to the 2017 Maxwell Award Watch List. Senior linebacker Nyles Morgan was chosen to the 2017 Bednarik Award Watch List.

The Maxwell Award is presented to the college football player of the year, while the Bednarik Award is given to college football’s defensive player of the year.

McGlinchey, the 22nd different two-time captain in Irish football history, started all 12 games in 2016 and enters 2017 with a string of 26 consecutive starts. He earned Associated Press second-team All-America honors last season. McGlinchey was one of four offensive lineman included on the list of 85 players from across the country. He joined Orlando Brown of Oklahoma, Cody O’Connell of Washington State and Connor Williams of Texas.

Adams, the only running back in school history with at least 800 yards rushing in each of his first two seasons, has started 12 games over his 25-game career. He’s rushed for 1,768 yards and 11 TDs (averaged 6.4 yards per carry). Adams’ 6.4 yards per carry average ranks fourth on the all-time Notre Dame list among players with at least 150 career carries. He’s also caught 28 passes for 235 yards and two TDs.

Morgan, also an Irish captain, started all 12 games at linebacker last season. He led the team with 94 tackles and four sacks. Morgan registered at least 10 tackles in five different games. He also recorded a career-high 13 tackles, including nine solo stops, in last year’s season opener vs. Texas.

Here’s a quick rundown for the rest of the week and when specific awards will release watch lists:

Mon., July 10: Bednarik Award/Maxwell Award
Tue., July 11: John Mackey Award/Rimington Trophy
Wed., July 12: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award
Thur., July 13: Bronco Nagurski Trophy/Outland Trophy
Fri., July 14: Jim Thorpe Award
Mon., July 17: Butkus Award/Paul Hornung Award
Tue., July 18: Biletnikoff Award/ Wuerffel Trophy
Wed., July 19: Davey O’Brien Award
Thur., July 20: Doak Walker Award
Fri., July 21: Walter Camp Award

Michael Bertsch, director of football media relations at the University of Notre Dame, has been part of the Fighting Irish athletics communications team since 2006. An Akron, Ohio, native, he graduated from Walsh University (Ohio) in 1998 with a bachelor’s degree in communications and also received his master’s degree in health and physical education with an emphasis in sports administration from Marshall University in 2001.

— ND —