Lindsey Ferguson and the women's DMR set an NCAA provisional qualifying standard at the Meyo Invitational.

Irish Track and Field Wraps Up Competition at Mike Poehlein Invitational

April 4, 2009

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – The Irish track and field squads wrapped up competition Saturday at the Mike Poehlein Invitational hosted by Purdue.

Women’s 200 Meters: Natalie Geiger finished fourth with a time of 24.79, followed by Tiffany Tibbot in seventh at 25.50 and Maddie Buttinger in eighth with a time of 25.65.

Women’s 400 Meters: Natalie Geiger won the event with a time of 56.34. Samantha Williams finished fourth in 58.43 and Tiffany Tibbot was sixth in 58.78.

Women’s 800 Meters: Lindsey Ferguson finished fourth with a time of 2:15.98, Marissa Treece was fifth in 2:16.82, while Allison Schroeder finished sixth with a time of 2:17.01. Dominique Taylor finished 11th in 2:21.12 and Theresa Cattuna was 12th with a time of 2:21.55.

Women’s 1500 Meters: Lindsey Ferguson clocked in at 4:29.24 to finish second, just ahead of Marissa Treece in fourth at 4:33.17. Theresa Cattuna finished eighth with a time of 4:42.01, Abby Higgins was ninth at 4:42.33, Elizabeth McMahon finished 14th in 4:49.34 and Molly Sullivan was 25th with a time of 4:59.91.

Women’s 5000 Meters: Beth Tacl finished second with a time of 17:16.66, Molly Hirt was third at 17:42.23, Alissa Ott finished fifth in 17:51.97, Susanna Sullivan was 10th with a time of 18:25.22 and Analisa Sandoval clocked in at 18:58.87 to finish 16th.

Women’s 10000 Meters: Erica Watson finished first with a time of 36:48.61, Emily Wauford was second in 37:31.57 and Kari Johnson was third with a time of 37:36.38.

Women’s 100-Meter Hurdles: Kali Watkins finished third with a time of 14.39, Maddie Buttinger was sixth in 15.03 and Sasha Blanchard finished 13th in 16.32.

Women’s 400-Meter Hurdles: Sasha Blanchard finished sixth with a time of 1:05.50, just ahead of Nicole Yergler in seventh at 1:05.91 and Kali Watkins in ninth with a time of 1:07.46.

Women’s 3000-Meter Steeplechase: Becca Bauman clocked in at 11:16.98 to finish first, while Stephanie Socias was fourth in 11:36.64.

Women’s 4×400-Meter Relay: Notre Dame finished fourth with a time of 3:56.89.

Women’s Pole Vault: Mary Saxer set a new Dave Rankin Track record with a top-vault mark of 4.30m (14-1 1/4). Women’s Long Jump: Jasmine Williams finished fifth with a mark of 5.56m (18-3), Maddie Buttinger finished ninth at 5.30m (17-4 3/4), Jaime Minor was 10th with a jump of 5.26m (17-3 1/4) and Sasha Blanchard finished 18th with a mark of 4.90m (16-1).

Women’s Triple Jump: Jaime Minor finished fourth with a jump of 11.30m (37-1).

Women’s Shot Put: Rudy Atang finished third with a mark of 14.17m (46-6) and Jaclyn Espinoza finished fourth with a toss of 14.01m (45-11 3/4).

Women’s Discus Throw: Jaclyn Espinoza finished first with a mark of 52.10m (170-11) and Anna Weber was third with a toss of 49.16m (161-03).

Women’s Javelin Throw: Elise Knutzen finished first with a mark of 43.08m (141-04), while Maddie Buttinger finished 21st at 26.64m (80-10).

Men’s 100 Meters: Tyrell Atkins finished fourth in 11.03, Chandler Brooks was 10th with a time of 11.27 and Sean Lindbloom was 18th in 11.57.

Men’s 200 Meters: Chandler Brooks finished seventh with a time of 22.35, Tyrell Atkins was 10th in 22.76, Sean Lindbloom was 23rd in 23.42 and Ronnie Kadykowski was 33rd in 23.76.

Men’s 400 Meters: Edward Hitchler finished 11th with a time of 49.58, just ahead of Alex Korenstra in 12th at 49.76.

Men’s 800 Meters: Jordan Rincon won the event in 1:51.41, followed by Balazs Molnar in second at 1:52.29, Kevin Labus in third at 1:53.58 and Randall Babb in fourth with a time of 1:53.79. Billy Buzaid finished seventh in 1:54.09, Mitch Lorenz was eighth with a time of 1:55.22, Max Cruz finished 11th in 1:57.09 and Brier Steenberge finished 19th with a time of 2:00.67.

Men’s 1500 Meters: Johnathan Shawel finished first with a time of 3:54.86, Paul Springer was seventh in 4:01.68 and Michael Farmer finished 21st with a time of 4:20.91.

Men’s 110-Meter Hurdles: Justin Schneider finished ninth with a tie of 15.61.

Men’s 400-Meter Hurdles: Matthew Brown finished third in 55.17.

Men’s 3000-Meter Steeplechase: Joe Miller won the event with a time of 9:33.39. Kelly Lynch finished third in 9:39.82, Thomas Noel was fourth in 10:06.61 and Kyle Higdon finished 10th in 10:30.18.

Men’s 4×100-Meter Relay: Notre Dame finished eighth with a time of 43.81.

Men’s 4×400-Meter Relay: Notre Dame’s `A’ team won the event with a time of 3:14.82, while the `B’ squad finished fifth in 3:23.52.

Men’s High Jump: Blair Majcina finished second with a mark of 2:05m (6-8 3/4), while Justin Schneider was seventh at 1.95m (6-4 3/4) and Doug Onuscheck was ninth at 1.85m (6-0 3/4).

Men’s Pole Vault: Matt Schipper finished third with a mark of 5.50m (16-6 3/4). Kevin Schipper cleared the vault at 5.05m (16-6 3/4) to finish fourth and Andrew Kolbeck was 10th at 4.45m (14-7 1/4).

Men’s Long Jump: Connor Paladino finished 11th at 6.20m (20-04 1/4).

Men’s Triple Jump: Eric Quick finished second with a jump of 14.77m (48-5 1/2).

Men’s Shot Put: Denes Veres finished third at 16.40m (53-9 3/4), John Belcher was fourth at 16.33m (53-7) and Andrew Hills finished fifth at 15.78m (51-9 1/4). Greg Davis finished 12th with a mark of 14.35m (47-1).

Men’s Discus Throw: John Belcher finished third with a toss of 45.48m (149-2). Denes Veres finished 14th with at 41.72m (136-10), Jeff Mensch was 15th with a mark of 41.62m (136-6) and Justin Schneider was 24th at 37.71m (123-9).

Men’s Javelin Throw: Tray Morgan finished fourth with a mark of 51.25m (168-2).