Daniel Clark won the 1,500m run Saturday at the NCAA East Regional.

Irish Track and Field Wrap Up Competition at Alex Wilson Invitational

March 6, 2010

Complete Results

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The Irish track and field squads wrapped up competition at the Alex Wilson Invitational Saturday, adding four NCAA provisional qualifying marks for Notre Dame.

Joanna Schultz, in the 400 meters, Kelly Langhans, in the 800 meters, Jack Howard, in the men’s 800 meters, and Daniel Clark, in the men’s mile, all added their names to Notre Dame’s list of NCAA provisional qualifiers.

The Irish used their last home meet of the indoor season to gear up for the NCAA Indoor Championships held March 12-13 in Fayetteville, Ark.

Women’s 60m Hurdles: Vanneish Ivy set an NCAA automatic qualifying time of 8.10 to win the event. Michigan’s Charnee Lumbus was second at 8.26, Georgetown’s Nene Kamate finished third at 8.28, Cassandra Lloyd was fourth in 8.49 and Georgetown’s London Finley was fifth in 8.73. Lumbus and Kamate set NCAA provisional qualifying times.

Men’s 60m Hurdles: Eastern Michigan’s Vanier Joseph won the event at 8.12, followed by Indiana State’s Michael Roberts in second at 8.30 and Central Michigan’s Renaldo Powell was third at 8.37.

Women’s 60m: Florida’s Alishea Usery was the top sprinter with a time of 7.51, followed by Indiana State’s Jaquelle Spencer in second at 7.73.

Women’s 200m: Western Michigan’s Iris Campbell was the top sprinter with a time of 24.74, followed by Indiana State’s Jaquelle Spencer in second at 25.15 and the Broncos’ Ashley Hunault in third at 25.32.

Men’s 200m: Wisconsin-Milwaukee’s Tyler Bucholz won the event in 21.69, followed by Larry Inanga, running attached, in second at 21.75.

Women’s 400m: Baylor’s Diamond Richardson was the top runner with a time of 53.88, followed by Georgetown’s Abigail Johnson in second at 54.17 and Michigan’s Shana Vinson in third at 54.28. Joanna Schultz finished fourth at 54.37 and Mississippi’s LaJada Baldwin was fifth at 54.38. The top five runners all set NCAA provisional qualifying marks.

Men’s 400m: Charlotte’s Darius Law won the event in 46.61, while North Carolina teammates Charles Cox (46.80) and Clayton Parros (46.96) finished second and third, respectively. Princeton’s Austin Hollimon finished fourth at 47.19 and Baylor’s Michael Liggins finished fifth in 47.22. The top five finishers all hit NCAA provisional qualifying marks.

Women’s 800m: Nicole Edwards, competing unattached, won the event with a time of 2:03.68, followed by DePaul’s Mary Cate Quiett in second at 2:06.82 and Utah’s Lucy Yates in third at 2:07.55. Kelly Langhans finished eighth at 2:08.58, Abby Higgins was 16th at 2:10.59 and Allison Schroeder finished 30th at 2:16.15.

Men’s Alex Wilson 800m Run: Wisconsin’s Zach Mellon was the top finisher with a time of 1:47.45, followed by Kentucky’s Sharif Webb in second at 1:47.86 and Baylor’s James Gilreath in third at 1:48.00. Jack Howard finished seventh at 1:48.85, Kevin Labus was 19th in 1:50.61, Blake Choplin finished 20th in 1:50.76, Cameron Eckert was 23rd in 1:51.54, Zac Suriano clocked in at 1:52.83 to finish 29th and Mitch Lorenz finished 30th in 1:53.03. Mellon, Webb and Gilreath all set NCAA automatic qualifying times, while the top 17 competitors hit the NCAA provisional mark.

Women’s Mile: Oklahoma State’s Mihaela Susa clocked in at 4:36.38 to win the event, followed by Florida State’s Amanda Winslow in second at 4:41.08 and Wake Forest’s Dina Nosenko in third at 4:41.10. Rebecca Tracy finished 16th in 4:53.74 and Marissa Treece was 21st at 5:00.56.

Men’s Mile: Montana State’s Patrick Casey clocked in at 4:00.19 to win the event, followed by UCLA’s Marlon Patterson in second at 4:00.33 and Northern Arizona’s Jordan Chipangama was third at 4:00.69. North Carolina’s Adam Cunningham finished fourth at 4:00.92, just head of Daniel Clark in fifth at 4:01.57. Spencer Carter finished 38th with a time of 4:21.68. The top seven runners all set NCAA provisional qualifying marks.

Women’s 3000m: Kansas State’s Beverly Ramos was the top runner with a time of 9:14.62, followed by Indiana’s Wendi Robinson in second at 9:27.95 and Wake Forest’s Anna Nosenko in third in 9:29.22. Princeton teammates Ashley Higginson (9:30.40) and Alex Banfich (9:34.61) finished fourth and fifth, respectively. Lindsey Ferguson was ninth with a time of 9:41.32. The top four runners set NCAA provisional qualifying times.

Men’s 3000m: Eastern Kentucky’s Soufiane Bouchikhi was the top runner with a time of 7:59.20, followed by Wisconsin’s Maverick Darling in second at 8:00.19 and Kent State’s Aiman Scullion in third at 8:02.21. The top three runners set NCAA provisional qualifying marks.

Women’s 4x400m Relay: Mississippi won the event in 3:35.40, followed by Georgetown in second at 3:35.64 and Florida in third in 3:35.95. Kansas finished fourth at 3:37.80, Western Michigan was fifth in 3:39.53 and Wisconsin finished sixth in 3:45.55. The top five teams set NCAA provisional qualifying marks.

Men’s 4x400m Relay: Oklahoma was the top team with a time of 3:08.06, followed by Ohio State at 3:08.20, Wisconsin in third at 3:09.14 and Alabama in fourth at 3:09.36. All four teams set NCAA provisional qualifying times.

Women’s Shot Put: Michigan’s Allison Liske was the top thrower with an NCAA provisional mark of 16.18m (53-01), followed by Southeast Missouri’s Ashley Brewer in second at 15.01m (49-03) and Michigan’s Emily Pendleton was third at 14.60m (47-11). Rudy Atang finished fourth at 13.84m (45-05) and Jaclyn Espinoza was seventh with a time of 13.23m (43-05).

Men’s Shot Put: Indiana State’s Brandon Pounds was the top thrower with a mark of 17.70m (58-01), followed by Southeast Missouri’s Josh Uchtman in second at 17.60m (57-09) and Youngstown State’s Aaron Merrill in third at 17.54m (57-06 1/2). Denes Veres was fourth at 17.36m (56-11 1/2), Andrew Hill finished eighth at 16.16m (53-00 1/4), John Belcher was ninth at 15.99m (52-05 1/2) and Anthony Thomas finished 10th at 13.32m (43-08 1/2).

Women’s Triple Jump: Purdue’s Nkeiru Ugwoaba was the only competitor with a mark of 12.57m (41-03). Men’s Triple Jump: Eric Quick was the lone competitor, finishing with a mark of 15.36m (50-04 3/4).

Men’s High Jump: Purdue’s Geoffrey Davis was the top finisher with a jump of 2.15m (7-00 1/2), followed by North Carolina’s Donte Nall in second at 2.15m (7-00 1/2) and the Boilermakers’ Adetayo Adesanya in third at 2.10m (6-10 3/4). Youngstown State’s brain Ehrhardt finished fourth at 2.05m (6-08 3/4), Eastern Michigan’s Xavier Clais was fifth at 2.00m (6-06 3/4) and Doug Onuscheck finished sixth at 2.00m (6-06 3/4).

Women’s Pole Vault: Purdue’s Brianna Neumann was the top vaulter with a height of 4.13m (13-06 1/2), followed by former Irish All-American Mary Saxer, competing unattached, in second at 4.13m (13-06 1/2). Cincinnati’s MacKenzie Fields finished third in 4.03m (13-02 1/2). Neumann and Fields both set NCAA provisional qualifying marks.