Rising senior Rebecca Tracy was a standout both on and off the track in 2012.

Irish Track And Field Earns Recognition From USTFCCCA

July 25, 2012

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Fourteen Notre Dame student-athletes earned recognition from the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association this week, as they were named to the USTFCCCA men’s and women’s Division I All-Academic Track and Field team. In addition to the individual honors, both teams were named 2012 Division I All-Academic Track and Field Teams.

Earning a spot on the team were Jordan Carlson, Ted Glasnow, Martin Grady, Andrew Hills, Mitch Lorenz and Anthony Thomas from the men’s squad and Alexa Aragon, Kelly Curran, Natalie Geiger, Gabby Gonzales, Emily Morris, Jessica Rydberg, Rebecca Tracy and Megan Yanik from the women’s team.

Thirteen of the 14 honorees advanced to the NCAA East Regionals during the outdoor season, while all-BIG EAST decathlete Ted Glasnow was ranked during the indoor season in the heptathlon.

Grady, Lorenz, Geiger, Rydberg, Tracy and Yanik all advanced to the NCAA Outdoor Championships in June with Tracy picking up second team All-America honors in the 1,500m run.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and have met either of the following athletic standards: for the indoor season, a student-athlete must have finished the regular season ranked in the national top 96 in an individual event or ranked in the national top 48 (collective listing) in a relay event on the official NCAA POP list provided by TFRRS.org; for the outdoor season, a student-athlete must have participated in any round of the NCAA Division I Championships (including preliminary rounds).

The men’s team sported a 3.30 grade point average (GPA), while the women had a 3.32 GPA.

A total of 171 institutions earned the distinction as a result of a cumulative team GPA of 3.00 or better.

Men’s Honorees
Jordan Carlson
Ted Glasnow
Martin Grady
Andrew Hills
Mitchell Lorenz
Anthony Thomas

Women’s Honorees
Alexa Aragon
Kelly Curran
Natalie Geiger
Gabby Gonzales
Emily Morris
Jessica Rydberg
Rebecca Tracy
Megan Yanik