September 18, 1998

Complete Men’s Results
Complete Women’s Results

Notre Dame, Ind.– The University of Notre Dame swept the National Catholic Championships, winning both the men and women’s meets. Notre Dame sophomore Ryan Shay finished first with a time of 23:46 and recorded his second consecutive National Catholic individual men’s championship. Notre Dame junior JoAnna Deeter captured first for the women with a time of 17:25 as she won her third consecutive National Catholic individual women’s championship. The victories mark the fourth consecutive for the men and the third consecutive for the women. Rounding out the top three in both the men’s and women’s divisions were Loyola University of Chicago and Marquette University.

On the men’s side, the Irish placed seven in the top fifteen as they finished with 23 points, 30 points ahead of Loyola. Freshman Luke Watson ran well in only his second collegiate meet as he finished fourth with a time of 24:24. Seniors Antonio Arce, Tim Englehardt, and Ryan Maxwell were right on his heels as they finished fifth, sixth, and seventh with times of 24:29, 24:30, and 24:30 respectively. Sophomore Ted Higgins rounded out the top ten for the Irish as he placed 10th with a time of 24:37, and freshman Marc Striowski continued to run well as he finished 15th with a time of 25:05.

In the women’s division, Notre Dame placed two in the top ten and six in the top twenty as they earned 47 points, 22 better than Loyola. Junior Patty Rice finished in a strong sixth place, recording a time of 18:12. Junior Alison Klemer placed 11th with a time of 18:33, closely followed by sophomore Erin Olsen, who finished 13th with a time of 18:38. Junior Erin Luby recorded a 16th place finish with a time of 18:43 and rounding out the top six for the Irish was sophomore Bridget O’Brien, who finished 20th with a time of 18:52.

    Men's Top Ten                   Women's Top Ten
1. Ryan Shay, ND--23:46 1. JoAnna Deeter, ND--17:252. Colin Jones, Lewis--23:59 2. Kasia Arient, Lewis--17:503. Michael Melfi, Marist--24:17 3. Beth Bayser, Lewis--17:584. Luke Watson, ND--24:24 4. Alana Crisman, Loyola--18:035. Antonio Arce, ND--24:29 5. Colleen Bolin, Loyola--18:086. Tim Englehardt, ND--24:30 6. Patti Rice, ND--18:127. Ryan Maxwell, ND--24:30 7. Liza Grudzinski, Marist--18:148. Matt Horeled, Loyola--24:31 8. Monika Stupian, Marian--18:169. Dan Hoarty, Loyola--24:32 9. Erika Jacobson, Marq.--18:2010. Ted Higgins, ND--24:37 10. Jenny Richey, Loras--18:32