Patrick Murphy - winner of the Meghan Beeler and Collen Hipp Award and the Patrick Reilly McManus Captain's Award - is one of 14 seniors being honored Saturday.

Irish Set to Host Annual Shamrock Invite and Honor Senior Class

Jan. 29, 2015

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The University of Notre Dame men’s swimming and diving teams will join forces with the women’s team this weekend, hosting the annual Shamrock Invitational Meet. The meet starts Friday evening at 5 p.m. ET, and features three sessions of competition in total – the Friday evening portion, and two sessions Saturday, starting at 10 a.m. and 5 p.m. ET respectively.

“We look forward to having great energy, and great race efforts,” men’s skipper Matt Tallman says. “This meet always helps us see where we are heading into championship season.

“It will also be a special weekend for the seniors, as they will be recognized for their many contributions to the current state of the program,” he continues.

The men’s team graduates 14 seniors in 2015 – 11 swimmers and three divers – the largest class in program history and Tallman’s first as head coach. The senior day celebration will take place at approximately 4:30 p.m. Saturday, before the evening swim competition. Amongst those being honored are NCAA participants Jonathan Williamson, Zachary Stephens, Cameron Miller and Kevin Hughes, as well as former captain Patrick Murphy and divers Ted Wagner, Nick Nemetz and Michael Kreft.

The Irish play host to Iowa, Missouri State and Incarnate Word this weekend, competing with Iowa for the second time this season – Notre Dame traveled to Iowa City in December for the Hawkeye Invitational and finished second by .5 points. They are 3-5 heading into the weekend, and will face Missouri State and Incarnate Word for the first time this season.

Results will be available through Meet Mobile – now a paid app – as well as . In addition, follow the Irish on Twitter and Facebook for periodic updates throughout both days.

Lizzie Mikes,

Media Services Coordinator