Freshman Danielle Aragon

Irish Set For The Hillsdale and Drake Relays

April 24, 2013

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The University of Notre Dame men’s and women’s track and field teams compete at the prominent 104th annual Drake Relays (April 25-27) and the 47th annual Hillsdale College Gina Relays (April 26-27) this weekend. The meets will serve as the final run through before heading into the post-season schedule.

The Drake Relays (Des Moines, Iowa) are hosted by Drake University and are held at Drake University Stadium. Action will commence for the Irish with the 800m at 4 p.m. Thursday and conclude with the men’s 4x400m relay at 5 p.m. Saturday. Further meet information can be found via Drake University’s athletic department’s site,

The Hillsdale College Gina Relays (Hillsdale, Mich.) are hosted by Hillsdale College with Ken Herrick Track serving as the main venue. Action will begin with the men’s decathlon at 3 p.m. Thursday. The running events are set for a 1 p.m. start time Friday and Saturday. The meet will conclude with the men’s 4x400m relay at 5:10 p.m. Saturday. The contest pays remembrance to the national champion cross country runner Gina Van Laar Lanser who passed away in 1997. Additional meet information can be found via Hillsdale College’s athletic department’s site,

Notre Dame most recently took part in the Mt. SAC Relays in Walnut, Calif., (April 18-19), the California Invitational (April 17-18) in Azusa, Calif., and the Polytan Invitational in Bloomington, Ind., (April 20).

Senior Jeremy Rae (Fort Erie, Ont.) stopped the clock at 3:41.45 (fourth) in the elite section of the 1,500m at the Mt. SAC Relays, later earning him BIG EAST Men’s Track Athlete of the Week honors for his efforts. The time places Rae second in the NCAA East Region and seventh in the nation in the event.

Senior Ted Glasnow (Newhall, Calif.) was the top finisher in the “A” section of the California Invitational decathlon, racking up a total of 7,315 points throughout the two-day span. The senior achieved a career-best finish and was just one of six in the field of 35 competitors to exceed the 7,000 point mark.

Sophomore Carly Loeffel (Cary, Ill.) put up a phenomenal effort in the “A” section of the heptathlon at the California Invitational, finishing fifth among 24 participants with a total of 5,287 points.

Senior J.P. Malette (Windsor, Ont.) placed 20th in the Olympic development section of the 1,500m with a time of 3:49.35 at the California Invitational.

In Bloomington, Notre Dame registered a total of 14 event victories and 42 top-five finishes on the campus of Indiana University. Margaret Bamgbose led the women’s team with three event victories (4x100m, 400m, 4x400m), while Patrick Feeney led the men’s side with two event victories (200m, 4x100m).

The BIG EAST Championship in Piscataway, N.J., will be Notre Dame’s next stop (May 3-5) on the campus of Rutgers University. Follow for full coverage surrounding the conference championship.

Student-Athletes Competing At The Hillsdale Relays (26):

Men (22): Randall Babb, Steve Blazer, Kevin Byrne, Rob Devaney, Ted Glasnow, Nick Hauser, Dean Odegard, Anthony Thomas, Jeff MacMillan, Patrick Lesiewicz, Dayton Flannery, Ben Harvel, Nick Hauser, Patrick Krach, Peter Kristiansen, Dominick Padovano, Chris Quinn, Spencer Rheinhardt, Walter Schafer, David Schipper, Anthony Thomas, Bryce Wood

WOMEN (24): Emily Kujawski, Lena Madison, Ihuoma Nwaogwugwu, Fiona Paladino, Frydrych, Karen Lesiewicz, Sydni Meunier, Meg Ryan, McKinzie Schulz, Kelsey Amarosa, Kathryn Barousse, Madeline Casanova, Amanda Chamblee, Mikaila Chamblee, Kaileen Healy, Megan Kilbride, Lauren Leniart, Lena Madison, Michelle Rotondo, Angela Ryck, Libby Schichtel, Allison Sullivan, Jaclyn Winkel, Oye Eyeguokan

Student-Athletes Competing At The Drake Relays (24):

WOMEN (12): Alexa Aragon, Dani Aragon, Margaret Bamgbose, Michelle Brown, Kelly Curran, Mary Esther Gourdin, Amber Lalla, Ann Polcari, Nevada Sorenson, Rebecca Tracy, Aijah Urssery, Megan Yanik

MEN (12): Jarrod Buchanon, Michael Clevenger, Brendan Dougherty, Jack Favorite, Patrick Feeney, Eddy Gibbons, Chris Giesting, J.P. Malette, Keith Mesidor, Jeremy Rae, Logan Renwick, DJ Thornton