Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Irish Rowers Win Three Races at Chicago Chase

Oct. 7, 2000

Notre Dame, Ind. – Notre Dame, rowing in its first race of the 2000-01 season, won three races at the Chicago Chase regatta Saturday morning in Chicago. The Irish won the open pairs, the lightweight eight and the lightweight four today, while taking second in the varsity eight and fourth in the varsity four.

After winning the pairs race, the Irish first varsity eight boat of Ann Marie Dillhoff, Melissa Alberding, Julia Kelly, Casey Buckstaff, Becky Luckett, Ashlee Warren, Katherine Burnett, Jayme Szfec and Erin Kiernicki finished six seconds behind first-place Indiana. The second varsity eight boat of Anne Starks, Kristi Schmidt, Maureen Carr, Elizabeth Kinnier, Diane Price, Katherine McCauldren, Erica Drennen, Kolleen Myers and Cassie Markstahler were fourth, only five seconds behind the second crew from Indiana.

The Irish crew of Sara Andrews, Erin Shea, Rebecca Campbell, Jessica Manske, Diana Laquinta, Kerri Murphy, Laura Aull, Leah Ashe, Claire Bula rebounded by winning the lightweight eight race. Their winning time would have put them third in the open eight race.

The Irish also won the gold in the lightweight four as the team of Tara Driscoll, Kathryn Long, Jessica Manske, Rebecca Campbell and Pamela Swan defeated Indiana. The open lightweight four boat of Caitlin Murray, Allyson Spacht, Ann Gurucharri, Andrea Amoni and Markstahler placed fourth today for the Irish.

“I thought we had a pretty good day. It was a chance for us to get the race jitters out and compete,” Irish head coach Martin Stone said.

Notre Dame rows again Sunday at the Head of the Rock in Rockford, Ill. The regatta begins with the pairs race at 8:45 a.m.