Martin Stone and the Irish concluded the fall portion of the 2009-10 season on Sunday afternoon.

Irish Rowers Conclude Fall Competition With Quad Meet Against Indiana, Michigan State and Iowa

Nov. 1, 2009


Race Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The Notre Dame rowing team concluded the its fall season of competition on Sunday, Nov. 1 by hosting Iowa, Michigan State and Indiana in a quad meet held on the St. Joseph River in South Bend, Ind.

The four teams competed in two separate flights of eights, fours and novice eights.

The Notre Dame B crew of coxswain Jacqueline Gilhooly, Stephanie O’Neill, Stephanie Boggs, Joanna Poinsatte and Meghan Solomon won fours flight two race nearly 17 second better than the second-place boat as the Irish posted a time of 14.39.2. Michigan State C was second in 14:56.9 and Iowa B was third in 15:10.1. Notre Dame’s C boat of coxswain Lauren Peartree, Sarah Thompson, Kate Monahan, Alyce Kanabrocki and Kathleen Bracke were fourth in the heat with a time of 15:12.0, while Indiana B finished fifth in 15:56.0.

In the first flight of the fours, Notre Dame A crew of coxswain Alicia Elliott, Paige White, Stephanie Figg, Andrea Archer and Brianna Krafcik took fourth in the five-boat race with a time of 14:59.2. Iowa A took first in 14:26.8, followed by MSU A (14:39.9) and Michigan State B (14:51.5). Indiana A was fifth in 15:11.8.

In the first flight of novice eight the Notre Dame A crew of coxswain Danielle Schneider, Catherine Hermann, Kelsey Murphy, Alisa Blumenthaler, Analisa LaMair-Orosco, Jennifer Lee, Sarah McShane, Paige Aiello and Kim Dunbar was fourth in 14:31.4. Iowa A won the heat in 13:41.1, followed by Indiana A (13:46.9) and Michigan State A.

In the second flight of the novice eight the Notre Dame B crew of coxswain Abby Meyers, Maura Newell, Caitlyn Kalsheur, Caitlin Connelly, Anne Hart, Meg Vertovec, Camille Sharrow, Theresa Blumenstein and Kelly Brakora finished third in the four-boat heat with a time of 15:14.9. Indiana B won the heat in 15:02.6, edging out Michigan State B that posted a time of 15:02.8. Michigan State C took fourth in the race in 15:24.3.

In the first flight of the varsity eight, the Notre Dame B crew of coxswain Rachel Louie, Emily Backer, Braegan Padley, Casey Robinson, Maria Lang, Valerie Brencher, Katherine Suyo, Colleen McKenna and Ching-Ting Hwang was third in 13:20.8. Michigan State B won the heat in 12:58.7, while Iowa B took second in 13:03.0. Indiana B was fourth in 13:42.4.

In the final race of the day, the Notre Dame A varsity eight crew of coxswain Sarah Keithley, Christina Buckley, Stephanie Gretsch, Carol Ann Michel, Brittney Kelly, Katherine Linnemanstons, Genevieve Malone, Morgan Kelley and Megan Keegan also took third in its heat as they posted a time of 13:05.9. Michigan State A won the race in 12:35.8, while Iowa A was second in 12:40.3. Indiana A was fourth in the heat with a time of 13:09.9.