Senior Ted Wagner finished Friday night on a high note, as he set a new personal best in the 1-meter event with his 319.40 score.

Irish Put In Strong Showing on First Day of Shamrock Invite

Jan. 30, 2015

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The Shamrock Invite got off to a roaring start Friday night, as fans packed the Rolfs Aquatic Center to cheer on the Irish against Missouri State, Incarnate Word and Big Ten foe Iowa. Highlights included a new men’s pool record set by Iowa in the 400 medley relay and a new diving personal best.

“We were pretty solid today; we’re in a good fight in the dual meets and we plan to come back tomorrow prepared to step up and race even a bit better,” Irish skipper Matt Tallman said. “We have a number of things to be excited about, and we’re looking forward to the rest of the meet and this weekend.”

In the first event of the night, the 200 free relay, Iowa’s A-team touched first, 1:21.87, followed closely by Notre Dame’s A-lineup of Justin Plaschka, Zachary Stephens, Kevin Bradley and Patrick Olson (1:22.03). The Irish B-squad of Reed Fujan, Bogac Ayhan, Rob Whitacre and Gabe Ostler came in fourth (1:24.20).

In the 500 free, four heats were swam and a total of 32 entrants competed, with Iowa again claiming victory on the back of Chris Dawson (4:30.60). Top Irish finishers were John Nappi in third (4:31.90), Benjamin Jany in ninth (4:37.42).

In the 200 IM the senior class dominated, with Stephens finishing in second (1:50.49), Olson touching the wall in third (1:50.90), and Cameron Miller coming in ninth (1:53.98). Fujan touched in 1:55.03, good for 13th place and was followed closely by Whitacre (14th, 1:55.06) and Bradley (15th, 1:55.07). Other swimmers for the Irish included Andrew Jensen (21st, 1:59.29), Shane McKenzie (1:50.01), Michael Schiffer (1:56.14) and Harlin Bessire (disqualified).

In the 50 free, Plaschka earned top billing with his 20.52 finish – good for first place. Matthew DeBlasio clinched 19th (22.12) with the only other non-exhibition swim. Joseph Krause (20.78), Ostler (21.10) and Michael Hudspith (21.16) also swam.

In the last race of the night, the 400 medley relay, Iowa’s A-team of Grant Bertulius, Roman Trussov, Jerzy Twarowski and Joseph Halsmer set a new pool record with their 3:14.92 showing. Notre Dame’s A-squad of Ayhan, Stephens, Williamson and Plaschka came in second (3:19.11) with Missouri State’s A-lineup clinching third.

In diving, the men’s 1-meter event was closely contested, as Joseph Coumos nearly broke the school record with his 374.80 final score. Coumos finished first, and was followed by Nick Nemetz in second (344.40 points) and James Lichtenstein in third (325.90 points). Ted Wagner set a new personal best with his 319.40 mark, finishing sixth. Wagner was followed by Michael Kreft in seventh (304.75) and Peter Myers in eighth (291.20).

The Shamrock Invite continues Saturday morning at 10 a.m. ET, with the final meet session starting at 5 p.m. ET. Notre Dame seniors from both the men’s and women’s teams will be honored at 4:30 p.m. ET with a t-shirt giveaway and celebratory video.

Results will also be posted , and live results will be tweeted through the team Twitter account, @NDSwimming.

Lizzie Mikes,

Media Services Coordinator