Jacqueline Gilhooly will serve as coxswain for Notre Dame's varsity four gold boat at the Head of the Rock.

Irish Prepare To Kick Off 2010-11 Season At Head Of The Rock Regatta

Oct. 9, 2010

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The Notre Dame women’s rowing team begins competition for the 2010-11 season when the Irish travel to Rockford, Ill. for the Head of the Rock on Sunday (Oct. 10). In all, the Irish will be sending 14 boats to the water in the team’s first competition of the fall. The annual event will take place at the YMCA of the Rock River Valley.

The Irish boats will feature six sets of pair boats, two varsity four boats, two novice eight boats and four varsity eight boats. The varsity eight boat lineups will be organized based on boat finishes of all other Irish boats that compete in the day’s action.

Last season, the Irish earned a race win in novice eight action while finishing runner-up in the varsity four race.

New to the Irish this year is the six sets of pair boats that will compete. The first shell will be comprised of Stephanie Gretsch and Stephanie O’Neill. Shell two will feature Emily Crosby and Katherine Linnemanstons. Carol Ann Michel and Genevieve Malone make up the third shell, with Katie Suyo and Paige White sitting in the fourth. The fifth and sixth shell feature Kelsey Haddad and Erin McConnell, along with Megan Keegan and Valerie Brencher, respectively.

Jacqueline Gilhooly coxes the gold varsity four boat for the Irish with Kathryn Monahan, Sarah Thompson, Stephanie Boggs and Joanna Poinsatte rounding out the rest of the crew. The blue varsity four boat features Ching-Ting Hwang, Brianna Krafcik, Alyce Kanabrocki, Kelsey Murphy and coxswain Abby Meyers.

Notre Dame’s gold novice eight boat features the crew of coxswain Christina Dines, Kiran Ikram, Kiersten DeHaven, Nicole Michels, Teresa Rubinger, Anna VanEgmond, Elizabeth Linnemanstons, Olivia Kacsits, Molly Bruggeman. The blue novice eight boats includes coxswain Leah Corachea, Sarah Fagan, Martha Dee, Laura Hartigan, Michelle Ramirez, Kelsey Sakanik, Anna Marie Blieszner, Julia Lynch and Courtney Gaberino.

Check back with und.com for a complete recap of action from the Head of the Rock Regatta.