Threresa Cattuna won the 2009 Valparaiso Crusader Open women's individual title.

Irish Men, Women Win Valparaiso Crusader Open Crowns

Sept. 4, 2009

VALPARAISO, Ind. – The Irish men’s and women’s cross country squads opened the 2009 season on a high note as both teams claimed championship crowns at the Valparaiso Crusader Open, held Friday at Sunset Hills Park in Valparaiso, Ind.

The Notre Dame men easily claimed the top spot as Irish runners took 10 of the top 11 spots. Junior Spencer Carter won the individual title with a time of 19:16. Sophomore Kelly Lynch finished second in 19:20, followed by junior Mat Abernethy in third with a time of 19:22.

Junior Ryan Gamboa crossed the line in 19:38 to finish fourth, just ahead of sophomore Thomas Noel in fifth at 19:54. Sophomore Johnathan Shawel finished sixth with a time of 20:00, freshman Jeff MacMillan clocked in at 20:01 to finish seventh and sophomore Thomas Pesch finished eighth in 20:03.

Junior Kyle Higdon finished 10th with a time of 20:14, and sophomore Zac Suriano was 11th in 20:23.

The Irish finished first with 15 points. The University of Chicago was second with 57 total points, followed by Valparaiso in third with 75 points and Wisconsin-Green Bay in fourth with 113.

The Irish women performed just as well, taking the team crown with 26 points. Western Michigan finished second with 45 points, the University of Chicago was third with 61 points, Valparaiso finished fourth with 107 and Wisconsin-Green Bay finished fifth with 129 total points.

Junior Theresa Cattuna won the individual women’s crown with a time of 18:25. Junior Erica Watson finished second in 18:36, followed by sophomore Kari Johnson in fifth at 19:05.

Freshman Courtenay Devlin clocked in at 19:08 to finish eighth, sophomore Alissa Ott was 10th with a time of 19:27 and sophomore Susanna Sullivan finished 13th in 19:42. Sophomore Sarah Anderson was 31st with a time of 20:33, just ahead of senior Analisa Sandoval in 34th at 20:53.

The Irish return home to host the National Catholic Invitational Sept. 18 at the Notre Dame Burke Golf Course.